Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

E-stop

Discussion in 'General Electronics' started by CharlieShimota, Feb 26, 2019.

  1. CharlieShimota

    CharlieShimota Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2017
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    40
    Don't know where to find an answer to this: I'm using an Arduino Uno and GRBL with my CNC router and would like to finally connect an emergency stop switch. Is there any way to connect the switch to the Uno or do I need to have the switch in line with the power supply? If the switch is on the power supply line and pushed to stop everything will I have to start again from scratch and re-home?
     
  2. Giarc

    Giarc Master
    Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2015
    Messages:
    1,315
    Likes Received:
    698
    I have mine on my power supply line. I like having all power killed...just in case. Unfortunately, when I hit it, I have to restart the job. Fortunately, when I do hit it, it is for a good reason and usually at the beginning of the job so it is no big deal. An example of such an occurrence is that I like to set my xyz zero in the middle of the part in my CAM set up but I forget to. Then, I zero everything in the middle and hit start. The machine immediately makes a beeline for the lower left corner because that is the default so I hit the e-stop because it is quick and easy.

    Here is a wiring set up for the Xpro which could be translated to the arduino. It is different then mine, but probably is a better way. Refer to pins, A0,A1,A2 on the GRBL wiki.
    [​IMG]
     
  3. CharlieShimota

    CharlieShimota Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2017
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    40
    Thanks for the diagram Giarc, still wondering if anybody out there has switched it through the Uno board?
     
  4. sharmstr

    sharmstr Master
    Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2018
    Messages:
    1,035
    Likes Received:
    627
    Watch this video. Its for the xpro, but it explains the reason why you want to kill power to the motors AND reset the arduino (in your case). They use a normally open / normally closed button and wire the normally open between the psu and the motors and the normally closed side to the reset pin on the arduino.

    I bought this switch to do this, but haven't hooked it up yet. Maybe I'll do that today and report back if you'd like. https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00NTT91Y0
     
  5. CharlieShimota

    CharlieShimota Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2017
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    40
    Hey Sharmstr, I saw your link to the switch but didn't see a link to any video?
     
  6. sharmstr

    sharmstr Master
    Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2018
    Messages:
    1,035
    Likes Received:
    627
  7. jeffmorris

    jeffmorris Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2017
    Messages:
    290
    Likes Received:
    51
    I'm a little confused. You said to wire the normally open side between the psu and the motors and the normally closed side to the reset pin on the arduino. Should the normally open side be connected to the reset pin and the normally closed side be connected between CNC xPro V3 board and 24VDC PSU?
     
  8. sharmstr

    sharmstr Master
    Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2018
    Messages:
    1,035
    Likes Received:
    627
  9. CharlieShimota

    CharlieShimota Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2017
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    40

    Attached Files:

  10. CharlieShimota

    CharlieShimota Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2017
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    40
    I found the above article while I was digging around for more info on e-stops with an Arduino Uno. I have an e-stop similar to the one in the Ooznest video with both NO and NC sides, so I'm going to wire the NO side to the A0 pin on the Uno (reset/abort) and a ground pin. The NC side will get connected to the power supply feeding the stepper drivers and a ground. My cnc is tucked away at the moment but as soon as I can get to it I will let you know if it works.
     
  11. CharlieShimota

    CharlieShimota Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2017
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    40
    I wired the e stop as I described above and it worked fine. I will attach the wiring diagram for my cnc in case it might help someone having trouble. CNC Schematic.jpg CNC Schematic.jpg
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice