Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

Dual control of a spindle and laser

Discussion in 'Other Builds' started by DSK, May 16, 2024.

1. DSK

DSK New
    Builder

Hello,

I built a router originally based on a usb Mach 3 controller. Then I switched to OpenBuilds Blackbox X32 and added a laser module to my machine. I've also switched to VCarve V12 and with the laser addon - and hoping to be able to dynamically switch between using the spindle and the laser within a single GCode program (e.g cut a part with the spindle, then laser engrave a part number on it etc). And I'm using OpenBuilds control.

Whilst I am an experienced software engineer - I am at the very beginning of learning GCode...

The spindle works fine with relay 1 to enable the VFD, and 0-10V for the speed. The laser also works fine powered with 12V and the pwm output.

However, I haven't yet figured out how to control the spindle and the laser independently. I believe that laser mode being enabled in GRBL only links the laser power to the motion of the machine, and enables immediate machine motions when the power demand is altered...

Presumably I also have to specify the offset between the spindle and the laser and so far not sure whether that would be in VCarve, or control...

I haven't yet tried controlling it with a GCode program generated from VCarve... So far just manual testing from control. So far what happens is when I switch on the laser the spindle also starts. I am not sure if the post processor in VCarve will automatically generate the correct GCode to handle this...