Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

Drive System without long v-belt

Discussion in 'General Talk' started by David Devine, May 1, 2020.

1. David Devine

Builder

What type of drive system is Michael using that doesn't require a long v-belt? I am new to this, and would like to copy how he did the drive system. Also, did he make the mounting brackets for mounting the framing rails to the table?

2. Rick 2.0

Rick 2.0 OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder Resident Builder

He is using a belt. It’s a timing belt not a v-belt but a belt just the same.

3. David Devine

Builder

I just can't tell how his drive system works, I need a ms paint drawing

4. David Devine

Builder

Ooh, Is he using the clamps at 4:07 to hold the rubber belt in? Is he using a drive system like this, but I can't see the belt?

5. Rick 2.0

Rick 2.0 OpenBuilds Team

Look at the main piece top center. You can see a big silver drive pulley with a belt coming down both sides. The belt runs down under the rollers and to the ends of the V-slot. Ref: Nema 23 Belt and Pinion Actuator

Edit: You beat with your response. The answer is yes.

6. David Devine

Builder

Alright, so he is using the system where the belt is clamped down on the ends? I just couldn't see the belt that well in the video, so I couldn't tell if he used a different system.
    [​IMG]

7. David Devine

Builder

Also, what is the belt system he uses for the Z-Axis?

8. Rick 2.0

Rick 2.0 OpenBuilds Team

9. David Devine

Builder

How strong are the Nema 17 motors?

10. Rick 2.0

Rick 2.0 OpenBuilds Team

Strong enough to do what they’re meant to do. (You want a better answer you’ve got to ask a better question.)

Giarc likes this.
  11. David Devine

Builder

Ok, I want the Nema 17 motor to be pushing against a flux welder wire, because I am building a robot that is like a cnc machine, but for welding

12. Rob Taylor

Rob Taylor Master
    Builder