Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

DIY large CNC mill - How to start ?

Discussion in 'General Talk' started by Ruedi Anneler, Jun 8, 2024.

1. Ruedi Anneler

Builder

Hi,
    I'm a real beginner in this area, and I'd like to build a large CNC mill to be able to cut e.g. long planks (till about 6 meters long) for boat building from large plywood sheets - means till 1,5 meters wide and till 6 meters long - sheets. The image shows the idea (x horizontally, y vertically, z perpendicular to the base plate).
    My idea is to use a vertical, slightly (say about 20 degress) tilted stiff sandwich plate leaned against a wall as a base plate für the mill to save workshop space. I'm aware of the fact that the base (plate and frame) must by sturdy, flat, and able to handle the forces of the mill without any or at least with only tiny deflections.

I have an engineering background (IT systems, software, design, CAD and structure construction) and I'm building small wooden boats for 14 years now.
    I've built some vehicles too: A car, some motorcycles for racing, and some recumbent bicycles as well.

But now I'm on the lookout for serious information to learn how to build the mill I mentioned above.

To start my development I'd like to know whether and where I can find useful and understandable information in a structured form to learn more how to build, and how to program and to use such a machine.

Are there any books or other written documentation anyone knows and recommmends for reading to start?
    I'm aware of the fact that there are a lot of videos available too. But I prefer written, serious, and well structured materials for study.

Any hint or tip is highly appreciated :)).

Attached Files:

2. David the swarfer

David the swarfer OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder Resident Builder

where to start?