Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

Cube 3 / Pro hacks

Discussion in '3D printers' started by eychei, Jan 16, 2017.

  1. eychei

    eychei Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2016
    Messages:
    143
    Likes Received:
    36
    That's actually everything you need to do.

    Flash the firmware and print till your material is used up. Respool the cartridge and start again.
     
  2. Tom Dirriwachter

    Tom Dirriwachter Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2016
    Messages:
    277
    Likes Received:
    31
    Once the firmware is flashed, you will notice that your cartridges no longer get rewritten.
    So the only other thing you need to do it print something :)
     
  3. Gunspinner

    Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2017
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    2
    Awesome guys. Thanks so much for your hard work! The problem is, I cant stop printing! :)
     
  4. bolsoncerrado

    bolsoncerrado Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2016
    Messages:
    229
    Likes Received:
    7
    Out of curiosity, 0% carts won't work right?
     
  5. davveee

    davveee New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2017
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
  6. eychei

    eychei Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2016
    Messages:
    143
    Likes Received:
    36
    Yes 0% and 100% (not initialized) cartridges do not work right now.
     
    bolsoncerrado likes this.
  7. bolsoncerrado

    bolsoncerrado Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2016
    Messages:
    229
    Likes Received:
    7
    Now the stupid side of things: instead of preventing chip write age, can't it be made to write always 100% no matter what?
     
  8. eychei

    eychei Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2016
    Messages:
    143
    Likes Received:
    36
    The routines are so nested that it is nearly impossible for me to know what the code really does.
    So maybe in the future this will work. But right now this is the best we can do.
     
    bolsoncerrado likes this.
  9. bolsoncerrado

    bolsoncerrado Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2016
    Messages:
    229
    Likes Received:
    7
    Enough, definetly :)

    Now to find a way to place filament spools in a sthetic fashion :)
     
  10. eychei

    eychei Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2016
    Messages:
    143
    Likes Received:
    36
    I think we need a fixture for respooling. I like the orignal cartridges a lot. There was a guy in Youtube which build his own cube 3 filament respooler but didnt upload it to thingiverse. MAybe someone can design something for us.
     
  11. bolsoncerrado

    bolsoncerrado Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2016
    Messages:
    229
    Likes Received:
    7
    I don't see a particular need for respooling them, risking cracks, wear and such, just how to feed thru them the politest way :)
     
  12. Gunspinner

    Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2017
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    2
    Here is my setup for external spools. It's been working like a dream. I've yet to have any feeding issues or clogs, and I'm in to my 14th spool!
     

    Attached Files:

    Scott Hark likes this.
  13. eychei

    eychei Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2016
    Messages:
    143
    Likes Received:
    36
    You did drill a hole into the cartridges? The service hatch was too high?
    really nice prints by the way.
    Didn't know this printer was capable of doing such big and nice models.
     
  14. eychei

    eychei Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2016
    Messages:
    143
    Likes Received:
    36
    Where did you get that metallic spool holder from ?
     
  15. Gunspinner

    Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2017
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    2
    Yes. On the last photo you can see the hole I drilled. My thought was the service door was to high. I didn't want to have any kinking issues, which I haven't. One thing I did do is take four inches of that Teflon tubing from the cart and slide it over the filament where it comes in contact with the cart so the filament wasn't scrapping the sides. So far, so good.
     
    bolsoncerrado likes this.
  16. Gunspinner

    Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2017
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    2
    Thanks eychei. I was amazed at how well it printed when I first got it. I have noticed that organic objects are a cakewalk more so than geometric ones/hard edges and such. They become a bit more rounded. At the 200 micron quality, I can barely notice the layers on some of the prints. Usually a coat or two of filler/primer and they vanish!
     
  17. Gunspinner

    Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2017
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    2
    And for anyone curios, I have run both esun PLA + and Hatchbox PLA with great results. I will keep you guys posted with any other successful/failed filaments that I run through.
     
  18. Tom Dirriwachter

    Tom Dirriwachter Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2016
    Messages:
    277
    Likes Received:
    31
    Thanks for the tip on the filament supplier, GS.
     
  19. bolsoncerrado

    bolsoncerrado Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2016
    Messages:
    229
    Likes Received:
    7
    While I agree most prints end up amazing, support generation is crap. Do u slice with cubify?
     
  20. bolsoncerrado

    bolsoncerrado Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2016
    Messages:
    229
    Likes Received:
    7
  21. Gunspinner

    Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2017
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    2
    Sure thing Tom, happy to help out anyway I can with this project. In regards to the supports you're, right Cubify sucks! I like adding supports in Meshmixer. I normally just use the automated support function and it works without a hitch. Sometimes I need to go in and add them myself, but for the most part the auto feature does the trick. BTW, agree with you 100% on the 200 vs 70.
     
  22. Tom Dirriwachter

    Tom Dirriwachter Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2016
    Messages:
    277
    Likes Received:
    31
    You don't want cartridges to reset to 100%. There is a routine in there that forces you to go through the initializing state for 100% cartridges. It is an endless loop from what I could tell because I couldn't get out of it. Funny thing is, I already calibrated and purged the spool. That 100% thing is something you want to loose.

    One thing I did notice is that all the *.mrl files appear to be menu picks... or a "level" type construction.
    Therefore 1 would be the highest level command. This can bridge to 10 as a subcommand... and 101 as a sub to that.
    Then you have 2, a whole other new command. What I am not sure about yet is the i1xx.mrl files. These must be the subroutine files that also have multiple levels. For you programmers... am I even close to this file structure? If so, the flow diagram is self-defined to for the most part. All we need to know is what each top level menu does. How can we see what's inside the MRL files?
     
  23. bolsoncerrado

    bolsoncerrado Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2016
    Messages:
    229
    Likes Received:
    7
    So u Autoadd supports with MM and export as stl into cubify.... Interesting!!

    How easy would be to change the boot up graphics for 0wnage's sake? Lol
     
  24. Bleky

    Bleky New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2017
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    How hard would it be to downgrade back to unpatched 1.14B if it doesn't work right?
     
  25. eychei

    eychei Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2016
    Messages:
    143
    Likes Received:
    36
    Downgrade is no problem. Just copy old firmware 1.14B onto USB and flash it. That's it.
     
  26. Bleky

    Bleky New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2017
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks!I was thinking I would need to take the internal SD card out and flash it to get back to old firmware.
     
  27. Kiza

    Kiza New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2016
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    3
    The only important part of SD card is cfg.bin file, containing printer Serial num. The rest is restored from the firmware, during firmware upgrade/downgrade. It is worthless to backup the SD, firmware is not stored there. Swapping SD cards will not change the firmware in the printer. Only upgrade/downgrade does.
     
  28. eychei

    eychei Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2016
    Messages:
    143
    Likes Received:
    36
    New Version to download. We are hard at work here.

    Patcher Release Notes:

    v1.1

    - Removed MaterialCode verification (e.g. Print ABS files with PLA Cartridge) (Cube 3 only)
    - Reactivated Telnet (Port 23) (no username / password needed) (Cube 3 only)
     
  29. Tom Dirriwachter

    Tom Dirriwachter Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2016
    Messages:
    277
    Likes Received:
    31
    Interesting hack on material. What does it do to determine extruder temps?
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice