Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

Corner Probe G-Code Help (using OB BB with OB Control)

Discussion in 'General Talk' started by KaosCNC, Sep 25, 2019.

1. KaosCNC

KaosCNC Well-Known
    Builder

I am new to CNC hobby and I bought a plate off of Amazon but then it didn’t have any source details for setting up the necessary G-Code to use the plate.

This is the probe - https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B07TBRFQWQ

The probe block is 60mm x 60mm x 25mm with a 7mm offset for X and Y. The Z is 22mm

I am using the OB BlackBox and OB Control and I understand in OB Control for Corner Probe I have to do a macro.

However, I am not sure how I get the correct G-Code to drive the probing.

I have mostly seen videos where the Z is probed first and then it moves off to the X and Y.

I have also seen some where the X and the Y and then the Z.

So I am confused what the correct work flow is and then how to get the correct g-code for the plate I am using and also the offsets for the plate and bit, etc.

Any help would be appreciated.

2. sharmstr

sharmstr OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder Resident Builder

3. KaosCNC

KaosCNC Well-Known
    Builder

Thanks - I am still not sure what the G-code is to start off with Z and where you'd position it.

This touch probe has a circle at the bottom left of the block so I'd think I would put my bit just above that and then probe Z and then afterwards probe the other axis.

4. sharmstr

sharmstr OpenBuilds Team

Assuming the entire plate is conductive, you can position it where you want.

In the link, there is a link to ooznest documentation. Scroll down to the bottom. There are two documents (touch-probe-offset-calculator and touch-probe-commands-guide) that explain how to calculate the values that you input into their probing code. Once you have the code done, replace the semi-colons with new lines, add a G90 to the end and add it to a macro.

5. Giarc

Giarc OpenBuilds Team