Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

CNC xPRO Driver

Discussion in 'Other Builds' started by Spark Concepts, May 25, 2014.

  1. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Project Maker Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    7,458
    Likes Received:
    2,511
    They are optional as most people don't actually wire up switches (keeping things simpler): See gnea/grbl
     
  2. Critical

    Critical New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2017
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    14
    $21 will enable your hard limits, $22 will enable homing for those switches, and $23 will define in which direction the axes move to find HOME.

    It's worth bearing in mind that by default, Grbl assumes your homing limit switches are in the positive direction, first moving the z-axis positive, then the x-y axes positive before trying to precisely locate machine zero by going back and forth slowly around the switch.

    If your machine has a limit switch in the negative direction, the homing direction mask ($23) can invert the axes' direction. It works just like the step port invert and direction port invert masks, where all you have to do is send the value in the table to indicate what axes you want to invert and search for in the opposite direction. Here's the table;

    [​IMG]

    More info on this is available on the GitHUB, see 'Grbl v1.1 Configuration'.

    Let us know if you get stuck :)
     
  3. Apeli

    Apeli New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2018
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    12
    Great, looks like it's easy to fix/set up after all.
     
    Critical likes this.
  4. Critical

    Critical New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2017
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    14
    I had so much interference with mine since I installed a spindle that I've actually disabled them - Not a bad idea to have training wheels but I'm over them now! Well, that and no amount of ferrules and shielded drain worked for me :ROFL:
     
  5. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Project Maker Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    7,458
    Likes Received:
    2,511
    :) setzero works! :)
    And yeah VFDs are hell for that reason!
     
    Critical likes this.
  6. Apeli

    Apeli New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2018
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    12
    Thanks guys, hard limit => on and now it works. The mask table will come in handy as I want to use the limits more with homing. My work area is quite large and I work mostly near the 0,0 corner, so I'll home it there on X&Y, but keep the Z un-inverted.
     
    Critical and Peter Van Der Walt like this.
  7. deano

    deano New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2016
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hi Guys! Thanks for the help!
    I having a new problem with my VFD and Spindle!
    I Have been using this link to set up my VFD! RobertOlechowski/Huanyang_VFD

    I have a HY CNC Spindle motor speed control 220v 2.2kw VFD,
    and a 2.2kw Air-cooled square spindle motor 220V 24000rpm

    First problem, I smoked my spindle with and overload because a wire came loose inside my VFD,
    I May have to replace spindle, the problem I have is I keep overloading spindle,
    the photo show's (in GitHub link),
    Neutral (Blue) to be connected to R,
    and Live (Brown) to be connected to S,
    But wiring Diagram shows connected the other way round? now confused? P.s I have U.K. Mains supply!
    Thanks Dean.
     
  8. Nicolas P.

    Builder

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2016
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    2
    Hello,

    Happy owner of a Xpro v3 for many years, I encountered an issue. Xpro is driving an ox cnc from ooznest. Jogging works in all direction but the machine freezes after some commands. We talk with Mike from Spark concept who admitted this was a curious case.
    • ox cnc jog in all directions but with sharp movements. I checked grbl parameters which are the same as when the CNC ran smoothly.
      After some commands (like pressing right arrow to jog right) the machine freeze and only rebooting the xpro makes it works again. Sending gcode makes it immediatly freeze.

    • some years ago, when Xpro was not responding, I used to reflash grbl 0.9j with Xloader. This time my attemps failed.

    • flashing grbl with arduino IDE failed : "mismatch at byte 0x0000 0x62 !=0x0c". Same with eeprom_clear as recommended by ooznest.
      I read from Peter Van Der Walt it is linked to the Xpro being an Atmega 328pb whose bootloader is probably corrupted.

    • with a spare arduino set as an ISP programmer, I successfully burnt the Xpro bootloader.

      Xpro pinout.png

    • Then I successfully uploaded grbl 0.9j. Still the Xpro does not respond on serial monitor nor UGS (even when given "$$" or "M8" commands).

    • same grbl sketch works and responds when uploaded on my spare arduino
      FTDI drivers are up to date
      Xpro is blinking when uploaded with "blink" sketch
      Xpro is responding when uploaded with a simple "Hello World" sketch
    EDIT : Thanks to Mike from Spark Concepts and Peter Van Der Walt from OpenBuilds, I tried alternative ways for flashing grbl on my Xpro. For unknowns reasons my attemps with arduino IDE failed but things worked fine with Estlcam and OpenBuildsControl softwares. Thank you very much :thumbsup:

    Regards
     

    Attached Files:

    #848 Nicolas P., Sep 26, 2020
    Last edited: Sep 29, 2020
  9. Ryan Turner

    Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2016
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    13

    I used to use an xpro. I had 2 version 2s and a version 3. They all died. Do yourself a favour and get a better controller. The open builds black box, a duet or separates.
     
  10. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Project Maker Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    7,458
    Likes Received:
    2,511
  11. Nicolas P.

    Builder

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2016
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    2
    Ryan Turner
    Thanks for the advice. I love arduino and DIY and will go for separated stepper drivers next time ;) Still compact boards as the XPro are so convenient !
    For now Mike from Spark Concepts helped me and the board is running again. I'm going to edit my post above with the solution.

    Peter Van Der Walt
    Thanks to an older post of yours I find MiniCore and successfully burned the bootloader as an atmega328pb.
    It allowed me to successfully upload grbl 0.9j but still the board didn't respond on serial monitor.

    Mike from Spark Concepts suggested me to try Estlcam and it brough my CNC back to live !
    Still a mystery : same hardware and software, not responding with arduino IDE nor UGS but running strong with Estlcam o_O

    Regards
     

    Attached Files:

    #851 Nicolas P., Sep 27, 2020
    Last edited: Sep 27, 2020
  12. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Project Maker Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    7,458
    Likes Received:
    2,511
    Remebered to change baud rate on connection? Newer versions of grbl uses 115200, older was 9600. Can be that you did not change selection in software?
     
  13. Nicolas P.

    Builder

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2016
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    2
    Just flashed my Xpro with OpenBuildsControl and now everything is working fine with Arduino IDE and UGS responding as they should. Big thanks Peter Van Der Walt !
    In conclusion something gone wrong with how I flashed Grbl with arduino IDE but I don't know what (both tried 115200 and 9600 baud rates).
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice