Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

Chess Playing Machine using Acro System

Discussion in 'Other Builds' started by SSMEngineering, Apr 6, 2021.

1. SSMEngineering

Builder

Hello Everyone,
    I'm new to the forum but have been using Open Builds parts and systems for my last few projects. I am an engineering teacher and have a student who is designing a chess playing machine. The idea is that she will move her piece and then input the move to her program and the program will then respond with a move and move a physical piece on her chess board. I convinced her to use a platform similar to a CNC machine but instead of having the router/spindle, she would have a Z-Axis that will drop down, power an electromagnet to pick up a piece and then bring it to the desired move location and drop.

Question is this - we are looking at using the Acro system (20x20) along with a C-beam linear actuator. Will the C-beam linear actuator attach easily to the plate that the Acro uses to attach the laser? Any other options for simple Z-axis which obviously will not need to resist lateral loading? I have seen some people talk about "Pick and Place" systems. Are there any systems setup for an electromagnet? Thanks!
    Alex Jones

2. Peter Van Der Walt

Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder Resident Builder

The C-Beam may be a bit heavy for the Acro (acrylic plates)
    Its meant more as a 2-axes laser/plotter platform.

3. SSMEngineering

Builder

Thanks Peter - can you give a recommendation about how I can raise and lower the pieces by about 3" or so? Should we custom build a lightweight system with 3D printed plates? I don't think it makes sense to get anything beefier than the Acro system because it's not being subject to lateral loads. What do you think? Thanks!
    Alex

4. Rick 2.0

Rick 2.0 OpenBuilds Team