Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

C-Beam cnc

Discussion in 'CNC Mills/Routers' started by Kyo, Jun 24, 2016.

  1. Max Schober

    Builder

    Joined:
    May 14, 2018
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hey guys-
    Would it be possible to use 6mm thick plates? In europe its kinda hard to get plates with thickness in imperial dimensions...:banghead:
     
  2. wiremonkey

    Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2017
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    12
    You can use plates as thick as you like, you will just need to adjust the length of your through bolts.

     
    Kyo likes this.
  3. Max Schober

    Builder

    Joined:
    May 14, 2018
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    1
    Can I create all the plates needed for the sphinx with a stock c-beam plate maker? Can I make the plates out of aluminum or just steel?
     
  4. Kyo

    Kyo Veteran
    Staff Member Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2014
    Messages:
    670
    Likes Received:
    682
    Rev 2 fixes a spacing error in the original plate files. The taller plates are a user mod. I recommend staying with the shorter plates for rigidity if your projects will allow.

    Yes , the Sphinx was designed to allow doing just that :thumbsup:

    Myself and many others have used 6061 aluminium. Any thickness 6mm or up should work great. Steel would work as well but it is not as easy to machine at home on our hobby machines so I tend to stay with aluminium.
     
    #514 Kyo, May 30, 2018
    Last edited: May 30, 2018
  5. Max Schober

    Builder

    Joined:
    May 14, 2018
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    1
    Im thinking about making the plates at my local makerspace. Would it be possible to make the plates out of acetal or another strong plastic (I saw one guy on youtube with an acetal router) ? I think it would be easier to make them like that at my makerspace.
    Kind regards
    MS
     
    Kyo likes this.
  6. Giarc

    Giarc OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2015
    Messages:
    2,247
    Likes Received:
    1,207
    I would stick to aluminum because it is way cheaper than acetyl. Especially if sourced from a local metal yard vs ordering it online.
     
  7. John Christian Lien

    Builder

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2016
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    9
    Hello again!

    So i did what Metalguru said/suggested and it worked. However i've runned into a big issue (i think). The sketch below is my cnc from above. Grey lines are the frame, bottom of the sketch is the front of the machine. When i built the mechanics to my machine (the frame etc.) and before going any further i measured it (the green lines) and it was totally square. When i mounted the c-beams i forgot to do the other measurements (red lines), which i measured today. And they are about 1cm off.. However the green measurement lines are still exactly the same (square).

    Also.. When i drive the gantry back and forth it runs totally smooth.

    Question 1: In my head when the green lines are exactly same on both sides, the red lines should also be the same. How is it possible that they arent?

    Question 2: Is it possible to fix this without dissasemble the whole machine? Untitled-1111111.jpg
     
  8. JustinTime

    JustinTime Journeyman
    Builder

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2013
    Messages:
    622
    Likes Received:
    177
    Of course it is possible, John! It's called a Rhombus. To have is all square you the angle between any two of your green lines has to be 90°. Normally, to fix it, you loosen the screws and press the two corners of the red line that are the farthest apart. You do it until the two red lines are equal and than you tighten the screws.
     
    cmwwebfx likes this.
  9. John Christian Lien

    Builder

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2016
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    9
    But the angles are all square.. Maybe i need to get a bigger/better square..
     
  10. SugarJ

    SugarJ Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2015
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    47
    Squares don't necessarily stay square if they've ever been dropped. The big carpenters' square I have that was my grandfather's I've had to adjust back into square a couple of times using the 3:4:5 ratio triangle measurement. (i.e., I measure between the 12" mark on one side and the 16" mark on the other, if it's not exactly 20" it's not square anymore.)

    Edit: and as for your measurements, even though your frame seems square if it's only half a degree out it will be measurable using your diagonal measurements. Trust the measurements, not your 6" long square. Geometry overrules tools.
     
    GrayUK likes this.
  11. ashish B

    ashish B New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2017
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    5
    Hi Kyo. On the build manual page 43, the rear X-Axis plates are different than what I received in V2 (from OX). They are a complete squre and have more holes. Am I supposed to use 8 wheels instead o 6 ? Is there any picture eo the assembly somewhere ?
     
  12. cmwwebfx

    cmwwebfx New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2017
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    5
    On the build manual it shows 40T and 20T for the belt reduction on Z. However the BOM is showing 20T and 20T.
    Is there a mistake in this? Should the BOM say 40T and 20T?
     
  13. cmwwebfx

    cmwwebfx New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2017
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    5
    With Rev 2 plates, I purchased these online following the link on the main page of the build. They have arrived and of magnificent quality.

    My question is how far back does the spindle go on the build plate/spoil board? What is the measurement from the very back of the spoil board to the center of the spindle?

    How are you all facing your spoil boards to get it all machined flat assuming you are using MDF?

    Can you reach all edges with a end mill to face the spoil board? If not, what is the trick on getting all of the spoil board faced off level?
     
  14. SamKircher

    Builder

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2016
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    12
    Not sure about the plates, but I glued down a spoil board that is slightly smaller than the max working area of my router. Then you can face the whole thing, and once its gone, just glue another in place.
    I use a 18mm router bit for facing with a facing tool path from fusion 360. Just be careful you don't have too much extension at the end of your tool path and it stays within your limits. (Limit switches are a great idea)
     
  15. Kevon Ritter

    Kevon Ritter Veteran
    Builder

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2015
    Messages:
    595
    Likes Received:
    286
    The spindle only goes back as far as it goes. You can't change physics. Both Y and X axis consume 170mm of travel. That's a work area of 330x330mm for a 500x500mm build.

    It's my belief that the spoiler should ALWAYS fit within the travel range of the machine. Any larger and you can't surface the entire spoiler. Not being able to surface the entire spoiler limits you to material that must fit within the travel area, as overhang would not sit flat. As for the actual surfacing, I use end mills like these. I make a single pass at 0.5mm.
     
    GrayUK and Gary Caruso like this.
  16. ElectricalSushi

    Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2018
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0

    Hey, I've been looking at your set for a few weeks now and just haven't bit the bullet yet.
    That being said, I have some questions and comments (don't take it as rude, i'm just genuinely unsure).
    For me, with tax and shipping where applicable, my total is $64.67 less for the openbuilds set.
    What are the benefits to your counterbored holes (I'm assuming this is referring to the 12 holes in the 2 "I" looking pieces)?
    Where are the tapped holes and is there a benefit (does the openbuilds set not have tapped holes...their product description is fairly lacking in details)?
    Is .6mm (less than 10% difference) going to mean anything in the long run?

    Again, not trying to be rude...I actually didn't even know about the openbuilds set until your comment, but now you've piqued my interest.
     
  17. Andreas Bockert

    Andreas Bockert Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2017
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    79
    I believe the counterbored holes are on the end plates for X and Y axes. The only threaded holes that comes to mind are to mount the steppers on the X and Y axes. I might be forgetting something though.

    I got my plates from Chris and they are very nice and came together without any problems. Since I have never seen the ones from openbuilds in person I can't make a conclusive judgement.
     
    Chris Laidlaw likes this.
  18. MaryD

    MaryD OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2016
    Messages:
    650
    Likes Received:
    637
    Kyo likes this.
  19. ashish B

    ashish B New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2017
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    5
  20. Michael.M

    Michael.M Journeyman
    Staff Member Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2017
    Messages:
    432
    Likes Received:
    252
    I've seen people drill those particuale spindle mounts for use with smaller z axis plates. It may be bulky but if I were you, I would mount it then get the machine going and mill a lower profile mount once you're comfortable with the machine. That's what's great about the Sphinx (or any OpenBuilds machine for that matter). You have so much freedom to alter / modify the machine to your liking. Check out my Sphinx. I have a wider z axis plate with a custom spindle bracket. Chris from Blue Ox made it but making your own wouldn't be terribly difficult.
     
  21. ashish B

    ashish B New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2017
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    5
    Thanks. I have to figure out how to mount this one so I could make nice ones like yours :). Probably just map holes to plate , drill and mount and make another set once machine is operational.
     
    Michael.M likes this.
  22. Chris Laidlaw

    Chris Laidlaw Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2014
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    26
    I make the plates one at a time on a custom precision fixture using 10 different carbide endmills and cobalt drills, chamfer and polish both sides and ship in 1 day.

    The precision press-fit double counter-bored bearing holes keep the bearing from moving during heavy cuts and allow you to use un-flanged bearings, and also have a shallow counter bore so flanged bearings will fit flush to the plate.
     
    Jdog, NeeqOne and Michael.M like this.
  23. Michael.M

    Michael.M Journeyman
    Staff Member Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2017
    Messages:
    432
    Likes Received:
    252
    Yes these are very nice plates! I recommend the upgraded set that utilizes extra wheels. More wheels = More rigid.
     
    Chris Laidlaw and Jdog like this.
  24. thmsclrk

    thmsclrk New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2017
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    @Kyo @Hayri PhoenixCNC Can anyone assist me?
    I have finally (1 year after purchasing everything) started to put everything together, and have started to test/calibrate my sphinx. I am using the phoenix controller, 4 DQ542MA drivers and one meanwell power supply. Everything seemed to be working okay - set up limit switches, homing, machine maximum travel etc. I went to try out a g-code file that I downloaded that simply writes 'thomas' with a pen onto paper, to test my machine out. I received all sorts of errors and alerts and now I cannot do anything with the machine. I have tried resetting the controller, resetting my computer, but nothing seems to work. The stepper motors hold their positions, but as soon as I hit a command like $H, they do not turn (I can turn them by hand until they re-lock) and then throw errors and alarms. When I connect the controller to my computer, the controller immediately indicates an alarm state. I'm wondering whether some component of the controller board has died and is preventing the direction signals from getting to the stepper motors? Any suggestions or help will be greatly appreciated.
     
  25. ashish B

    ashish B New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2017
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    5
    I am a noob and just finished building similar setup. If you dont connect motors and limits and reset tham in ugs or whatever gcode sender you are using, does board flash different axis lights ? If not may be reload GRBL ?
    There are videos on you tube.
     
  26. Michael.M

    Michael.M Journeyman
    Staff Member Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2017
    Messages:
    432
    Likes Received:
    252
    What are the specific alarm codes? Most issues that completely prevent a grbl machine from running have to do with your E-Stop or limit switches. Either their wired wrong or some sort of interference is triggering them.
     
  27. Metalguru

    Metalguru Veteran
    Builder

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2015
    Messages:
    734
    Likes Received:
    528
    Temporarily disable soft and hard limits. Make sure you have something near to correct entered in $130, $131, and $132.

    See if that helps.

    MG
     
  28. jkrink

    jkrink New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2018
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    1

    This is an amazing build, I'm slowly getting it together. I'm curious though why you chose to belt-drive the lead screw on the z? Wouldn't it be more efficient to connect the stepper shaft directly to the lead screw like the other axes?
     
  29. JustinTime

    JustinTime Journeyman
    Builder

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2013
    Messages:
    622
    Likes Received:
    177
    If you are talking about the machine that is in the built section then the answer is to achieve a gear reduction to gain more torque.
     
    Kyo and jkrink like this.
  30. Gyroscope07

    Builder

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2018
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Will this work using all non-flanged 688-2z bearings? the flanged ones are really hard to come buy in Australia.
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice