Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

C-Beam™ Machine - Plate Maker

Discussion in 'CNC Mills/Routers' started by Mark Carew, Jul 16, 2015.

  1. Kyo

    Kyo Master
    Staff Member Resident Builder Builder

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2014
    Messages:
    668
    Likes Received:
    659
    Okay perfect, thanks Rick. That is exactly how I had it pictured in my head / cad but then I started to double guess my self.
     
  2. Jimmybuckets

    Jimmybuckets Veteran
    Builder

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2014
    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    34
    EDIT: Looks like the z car has somehow lost the pre-load I put on it and there is some play I need to get rid of.
    First piece on the C-Beam machine. Lots of chatter. Going too deep maybe or too fast or both? I could see the bit dancing around on z plunges and could hear the chatter.
     

    Attached Files:

    #1112 Jimmybuckets, May 22, 2016
    Last edited: May 22, 2016
  3. David the swarfer

    David the swarfer OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2013
    Messages:
    1,288
    Likes Received:
    645
    there is 'almost' no such thing as too fast in aluminum (-:
    calculated feed rates will often be faster than a hobby machine can achieve.

    but stiffness, this we need for deep cuts, so.....
    keep the feed speed, maybe even increase it (-:
    reduce the depth of cut.

    and, tick the 'ramping' box so all entries to the work are ramped instead of plunged. End mills are notoriously bad at plunging, despite the obvious implications of the name!
     
  4. Jimmybuckets

    Jimmybuckets Veteran
    Builder

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2014
    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    34
    I am using a 1/4 bit and 30 degree ramping. 0.5mm step down and around 1000 mm/per min. I think the issue was more the fact that somehow the z cars wheels became loose. I had a pretty good amount of pre load on them but now the plate can be easily moved enough where I'm sure that is where the chatter is coming from. Any have experience with the v-wheels becoming looser after use?
     
  5. David the swarfer

    David the swarfer OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2013
    Messages:
    1,288
    Likes Received:
    645
    check the bit tip angles, 30 degrees may be too steep.
    I measured my 2 flute routing bit (for wood) at 15 degrees, as a comparison.
     
  6. Jimmybuckets

    Jimmybuckets Veteran
    Builder

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2014
    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    34
    Once I re-tighten the v-wheels I am hoping they should stay set this time...correct?
     
  7. Chris Laidlaw

    Chris Laidlaw Journeyman
    Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2014
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    24
    Where do you get this 1mm shim?
     
  8. Kyo

    Kyo Master
    Staff Member Resident Builder Builder

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2014
    Messages:
    668
    Likes Received:
    659
    The OB parts store carries them. "Here"
     
    #1118 Kyo, May 24, 2016
    Last edited: May 24, 2016
  9. Ronald van Arkel

    Staff Member Resident Builder Builder

    Joined:
    May 7, 2014
    Messages:
    471
    Likes Received:
    240
    It comes with the wheel kits, or can be bought at the OpenBuilds shops.

    -Ronald
     
  10. Rick 2.0

    Rick 2.0 OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Resident Builder Builder

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2013
    Messages:
    2,149
    Likes Received:
    1,036
  11. Jimmybuckets

    Jimmybuckets Veteran
    Builder

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2014
    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    34
    Just to clarify...the only time you need the extra shim is when you are using the mini and the larger v-wheel together. It may seem obvious but I just figured it out after thinking I might have not put my z axis together correctly :)
     
  12. Jimmybuckets

    Jimmybuckets Veteran
    Builder

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2014
    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    34
    Sorry for the double post. But to update about the issues I was having with the chatter on cuts, I went and took the z axis apart and gave the wheels a bunch more pre load as well as went back through the entire frame and gave all the screws another half turn or so. It seems to have helped quite a bit. I haven't had a chance to cut yet but I think it should make quite a difference. Also, I don't know if this will matter at all, but I decided to move the router so that with a bit touching the table the z axis plate is centered with the x cross member. Hopefully this will help a little by centering the stresses in the strongest areas of the machine.
     
  13. Acuralegendz

    Builder

    Joined:
    May 19, 2014
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm sure this has been asked before but I'm not sure how to search these posts but here goes. I just assembled my c beam and I wired up the x pro v2 and the motors are making grinding noises when jogging. The board came with 1/8 stepping and I switched to 1/16 and the current pots were set to about half and I tried lowering and raising them but the motors still grinding. I even took the motor off the axis to make sure it wasn't the backlash nut or anything in the axis but it was still there. I followed the steps in the video and I'm using grbl panel with the settings in the video. I noticed there was no mention to the pots or the step settings in the video. Can anyone help me??

    Just had a thought. My power supply is 24v and 8a. Could the low amps be causing my issue? I never thought of the fact that my old Cnc had nema 17s and that supply worked fine with a tb6550 board.
     
    #1123 Acuralegendz, May 28, 2016
    Last edited: May 28, 2016
  14. Jimmybuckets

    Jimmybuckets Veteran
    Builder

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2014
    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    34
    If you changed your microscopic you also need to change your steps per mm. I don't use that board I but if the pots are for amperage I ran long jog move and adjusted for smoothest operation.
     
  15. Ronald van Arkel

    Staff Member Resident Builder Builder

    Joined:
    May 7, 2014
    Messages:
    471
    Likes Received:
    240
    Hello @Acuralegendz,

    Check the connection of the wires of the motors, you might have one phase reversed.

    -Ronald
     
  16. Acuralegendz

    Builder

    Joined:
    May 19, 2014
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    I checked and i believe they are wired correctly, the motors do move and in the right direction. I just swapped out my power supply for an ATX PS that has 12v 16a and it is sounding better. When I jog far while its moving it sounds good but when it starts and when it comes to a stop it makes the grinding noise. I attached a video and a linkt to youtube in case the uploaded video does not work.
     

    Attached Files:

  17. Kyo

    Kyo Master
    Staff Member Resident Builder Builder

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2014
    Messages:
    668
    Likes Received:
    659
    Have you tuned the drivers on the xpro to set the current limit yet? They do not come pre set and the pot on the xpro is really sensitive, small turns is all it takes. The on board drivers are DRV8825 and Current Limit = VREF × 2 If you want to run your motors at 2A set the drivers to a reference voltage of 1.0 V. I had the best luck when I was still running a xpro; running at 24v 1/8th stepping 1.8A to the OB 23 motors. I also recommend heat sinks and a cooling fan.
     
    Mark Carew and GrayUK like this.
  18. Jimmybuckets

    Jimmybuckets Veteran
    Builder

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2014
    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    34
  19. clovenedhoof

    clovenedhoof Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    1
    Is there a BOM for the larger build? that is excellent. and I would like to order all the parts, but want to ensure I don't miss anything.
     
  20. Mark Carew

    Mark Carew OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Resident Builder Project Maker Builder

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2013
    Messages:
    2,365
    Likes Received:
    1,823
    Hello there is not a standard build list for the larger OX but there is the OXcalculator - Bill of Material and Cost calculator created by OpendBuilds Member Serge E.
    Your computer figures out the parts you need to build your OX by giving it X, Y & Z sizes
    There are also a few guys that have built the larger OX so their Build list may be helpful as well.
    All the best with your Build , look forward to seeing what you make with it.
    Mark
     
  21. Jimmybuckets

    Jimmybuckets Veteran
    Builder

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2014
    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    34
    So I'm finally cutting some aluminum. I'm using a 1/4" bit and have gone and tightened all my axis up which was part of my problem in a previous post. I am cutting with half a mm cut depth at 1000 mm/per min. I still seems to be getting some chatter and odd artifacts. Do I need to take a more shallow depth of cut? 1/2 mm seemed conservative to me but prob could up the speed and reduce cut depth?
     
  22. David the swarfer

    David the swarfer OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2013
    Messages:
    1,288
    Likes Received:
    645
    what RPM Jimmy?
     
  23. Jimmybuckets

    Jimmybuckets Veteran
    Builder

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2014
    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    34
    As low as the Dewalt dpw611 will go. Says low speed is 16k
     
  24. Kyo

    Kyo Master
    Staff Member Resident Builder Builder

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2014
    Messages:
    668
    Likes Received:
    659
    I have not tried cutting with a 1/4 tool yet. I run 1/8" tools. With my dewalt 611 on the same speed setting. My depth of cut is usually around 0.015" in aluminium so not much more shallow then what your doing. what are the odd artifacts you are getting?

    EDIT: This should be closer to the same speeds and feeds you are running just with a 1/8 single flute..

    The fastest I have run is 40ipm with the same 0.015" depth of cut which can be seen here. How does this run compare to what you are getting?


    Note: I did break my end mill on that run lol that was before I had cooling on my drivers.
     
    Mark Carew likes this.
  25. Jimmybuckets

    Jimmybuckets Veteran
    Builder

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2014
    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    34
    For the most part it looks like a lot of chatter worse in some areas better in others. On this run there was one spot the tool at into the geometry of the part...not sure if it happened all at once or on every pass. Also looks like maybe I'm getting some small amount of chips mooshed or melted to the part. I will send pics later. Part of the problem may be the 2 flute 1/4" bit. The feed and speed calculator I played with shows that the only way to get even close to the right chip load is with a single flute 1/8" bit at 16000 rpm. I have a SuperPid waiting to be installed which will let me run as low as 5000 rpm. At the rate I have been able to work on this project it will be 6 months before I can get that installed! I have cut a fair amount of wood and even some plastics on cnc but this is my first go at aluminum...and on a much smaller lighter machine. Not as forgiving as wood!
     
  26. Acuralegendz

    Builder

    Joined:
    May 19, 2014
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    How do I know how much current im at while adjusting the pot?
     
  27. clovenedhoof

    clovenedhoof Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    1
  28. Jimmybuckets

    Jimmybuckets Veteran
    Builder

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2014
    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    34
    Here is a pic of what I am seeing. I'm not talking about the tabs or the fact I didn't cut all the way through.
     

    Attached Files:

    #1138 Jimmybuckets, Jun 1, 2016
    Last edited: Jun 1, 2016
  29. Ronald van Arkel

    Staff Member Resident Builder Builder

    Joined:
    May 7, 2014
    Messages:
    471
    Likes Received:
    240
    @Jimmybuckets,

    Do you cut that dry? Did you try with coolant and lubricant? Looks like you are forcing the cut too much and motors have problems to hold the torque.

    -Ronald
     
  30. Jimmybuckets

    Jimmybuckets Veteran
    Builder

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2014
    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    34
    Yes they were dry. That would be my preference to cut dry in my situation. So maybe less depth of cut could solve it?
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice