Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

C-Beam™ Machine - Plate Maker

Discussion in 'CNC Mills/Routers' started by Mark Carew, Jul 16, 2015.

  1. motopreserve

    motopreserve Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2015
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    52
    Thanks for posting this. I've been away from the machine for a bit - but this should be a more eloquent solution to my smattering of shim stock :).

    I printed both sizes to see which would work best. Appreciate the effort!
     
  2. Jimmybuckets

    Jimmybuckets Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2014
    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    34
    Glad I could help...now I just need some time so I can actually put mine together! The half open box has been giving me the stink eye since before Christmas time.
     
  3. Jimmybuckets

    Jimmybuckets Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2014
    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    34
    It could also be that you have too much current running through the drivers. You should be able to change your feeds and speeds in what ever interface you are using to send gcode to grbl...that is the easiest way anyway. Prob a good starting point would be .75 or 1 in/s for cutting and 3-3.5 in/s for rapids. These may or may not be good for what ever you are working on but are a moderate setting that the machine should handle ok for testing and getting good accurate results on at least wood.
     
  4. Meshman2000

    Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    1
     
    #784 Meshman2000, Jan 12, 2016
    Last edited: Jan 12, 2016
  5. snokid

    snokid Journeyman
    Builder

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2014
    Messages:
    335
    Likes Received:
    101
    the drivers will work for the motors you have...
    The motors will take up to 2.8 amp and the drivers will supply up to 2.0 amp.
    I have the same style of drivers on my c-beam machine, so I can say for certain they will work.
    after setting the current is it working?
    Don't worry you will be up and running in no time....
    if you have the heat sinks then adjust them for 2.0 amp or close to that. If that doesn't solve the problem come on back many people on here to help you...
     
  6. Jimmybuckets

    Jimmybuckets Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2014
    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    34
    I haven't even had time to star my build yet, but have go ahead to get a Super-Pid....do you guys think its a worth while thing to move forward on...looks like it would be really useful...it would be mated to my Dewalt 611.
     
  7. Kyo

    Kyo Veteran
    Staff Member Resident Builder Builder

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2014
    Messages:
    668
    Likes Received:
    662
    Have not started my build as of yet either. However I have heard good things about the super-pid setup on the cnczone. You should go ahead and grab it, then tell us what you think. Given we have the same setup (c-beam machine with Dewalt 611 ) it would be nice to have a direct comparison review. :)
     
    #787 Kyo, Jan 15, 2016
    Last edited: Jan 16, 2016
  8. apburner

    apburner New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2015
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    7
    First movement achieved. Got one of my nema 23 motors to move. Really happy about that. Using a Tinyg to a Chinese HY-DIY268n-5A. I used the Chinese driver because I have 425in/oz motors and they are rated at 4.2A. The Tinyg could not drive them fully. Now just need to get them mounted to my C-beam and then to the full testing part. Oh yes I am using Chilipeppr to control the Tinyg.
     
  9. Jimmybuckets

    Jimmybuckets Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2014
    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    34
    Should be pretty fast when you are finished!
     
  10. Bob R

    Bob R New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2015
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    22
    I was doing a test on my C-beam machine to check how much it deflects/rotates due to the weight of the router/spindle. I have the Bosch Colt. (I also purchased a 65 mm diameter 1.5 kW spindle but it's too heavy in the C-beams current state.)

    I'm using a dial indicator to check deflection. www.amazon.com/gp/product/B004E8E5PK

    I've removed the router and tighten the clamp all the way so it's not loose. I've placed the dial indicator under the front of the clamp. I zeroed it with no router, then placed the router upside down to sit on the clamp. The back side of the Colt is flat so it makes it easy to rest on the clamp. The Z and X axis were in the middle of their travels for this test. The dial indicator shows it moves 0.0033". If anyone else has the tools to do this test with the Colt (same weight as I'm testing) I would like to know your results.

    20160116_112522.jpg
     
  11. motopreserve

    motopreserve Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2015
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    52
    You might just need some shims to get the indicator to read true on all sides. I needed some steel shim stock for this on my build.
     
  12. Jimmybuckets

    Jimmybuckets Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2014
    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    34
    Have to keep inind this is a $450 kit. And for the money there is nothing I know of that will touch it as far as rigidity. I have thought about using a second router mount since one does seem a little bit under done. The great thing is you can make your own improvements now :)
     
  13. Gilbert Mackall

    Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2016
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    48
    Just ordered my unit!

    Has anyone used BCNC on a Mac?
     
  14. John Meikrantz

    John Meikrantz Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2014
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    56
    Yes, works fine.
     
  15. Gilbert Mackall

    Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2016
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    48
    John,

    Thanks
     
  16. Jimmybuckets

    Jimmybuckets Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2014
    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    34
    Just ordered my Super-Pid...its unclear how long it will take to get to NC from Australia...who knows...maybe I will have had time to start putting my machine together by the time it shows up :) Seriously though...seems like it should be a big help in getting better results in things like aluminum that need lower speeds.
     
  17. Bob R

    Bob R New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2015
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    22
    I completely agree with you. I was hoping someone else could perform this test so I could compare it to what I got in case I've incorrectly tensioned the extreme wheels or have some other issue. Either way I can track it down and as you say can make my own improvements.
     
  18. Jimmybuckets

    Jimmybuckets Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2014
    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    34
    I was thinking after I posted that maybe some of your v-wheels might not be tight enough...but I haven't even built my machine yet...so I have no experience with OpenBuilds and the v-wheel system. I have owned two Shopbots in the past...I don't know what their spec is now, but when I owned them they were spec'ed to be accurate to 0.015" which I think is about 1/64"...certainly not mil-spec but was able to get repeatable results and dial things in based on those machines limitations. I would say by the end of my ownership of them I was getting parts that were accurate to 0.005". I'm no machinist so take that number with a grain of salt. There are many areas I see that could be improved on the c-beam...but I will have to see how those design compromises translate into real world issues. I agree it would be interesting to see what others come up with for a similar test. I also wanted to post this link...its pretty good read on Climb vs Conventional cutting and a few other topics.
    http://www.conicalendmills.com/wp-content/uploads/2014/10/Machining_Methods.pdf
    There are a few more articles on their website under downloads.
     
    #798 Jimmybuckets, Jan 17, 2016
    Last edited: Jan 17, 2016
  19. apburner

    apburner New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2015
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    7
    I hope so. I bought the biggest 23's so that when not if I up grade I will have plenty of power
     
  20. Meshman2000

    Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    1
    We decided that we may have over tensioned the v wheels and lead screws, causing the motors to stall. We also decided to order the 3 amp step contollers, they should be in by the end of the month.
     
  21. Bob R

    Bob R New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2015
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    22
  22. matt_o_70

    matt_o_70 New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2013
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    14
  23. Shadow39

    Shadow39 New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2014
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello All,

    First attempt to use a discussion board. I recently bought the C-Beam Machine and put it together. I had no issues using GRBL Panel at that time to jog the motors. Fast forward 3 weeks and now when I plug the Xpro board into my laptop and look in Device manager there is an error icon indicating the need for a driver update. Along with that GRBL Panel does not recognize the board. I have a laptop running Windows 10. When I let it search for an updated driver, it continuously searches until I cancel. Any suggestions?

    Thanks,
    Shadow39
     
  24. snokid

    snokid Journeyman
    Builder

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2014
    Messages:
    335
    Likes Received:
    101
  25. Shadow39

    Shadow39 New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2014
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
  26. JOHHH

    JOHHH New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2016
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello everyone
    I want to build CNC wide format.
    Y axis 1000mm, X axis 1500mm
    width 1500mm whether to use one piece C-Beam strong enough?
    thank you
     
  27. Jimmybuckets

    Jimmybuckets Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2014
    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    34
    0 um hj j
    Hey Bob,
    Was wondering if you had tried that test anywhere else? For example under the x cross member, or under the z gantry plate. Just to see where the flex may start from and then work your way backwards?
     
  28. Flash22

    Flash22 Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2015
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    41
    there are known issues with grbl panel and the xpro try it with universal gcode sender instead from git hub
     
  29. Bob R

    Bob R New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2015
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    22
    As a matter of a fact yes. I put an extra temporary beam on the gantry to have the same cantilever as the spindle mount, but all forces are directly on the gantry (x-axis c-beam). The weight of the motor was placed on the temporary beam, but I still measured under the mount. This removes the effect of the extreme wheels and all that related coupling. Instead of getting 0.0033 I got 0.0010. The temporary beam was not on center because that's where the z-axis assemble was during the test. So it's right up next to it about 1 mm away from its side. Also I placed the weight on the gantry directly and the change was in the range of 0.0001 which is very small.

    A good chunk of the 0.0033 change is probably coming from the extreme wheels. About 0.001 is coming from torsional twisting (not deflection) of the x-axis c-beam. Maybe more since the temporary beam was not on center, so like maybe 0.0015. I'd have to go through the math. That's twisting, not deflecting. Something very different. I've been busy with other projects so haven't spent further time to prove/isolate down the rest of the z-axis assembly, but my guess is it's mostly the wheels.
     
  30. Jimmybuckets

    Jimmybuckets Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2014
    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    34
    Thanks Bob. I have thought a few times how the z plate does seem like it could use a few more wheels...and maybe the y plate as well. Thanks for the feedback.
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice