Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

C-Beam™ Machine - Plate Maker

Discussion in 'CNC Mills/Routers' started by Mark Carew, Jul 16, 2015.

  1. motopreserve

    motopreserve Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2015
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    52
    There was something mentioned about a setting that buffered the code sending to the tinyG which was supposed to help with large files. I had a file that was 50k+ that had an issue. But a tidy 35k was ok :)
     
    Ryan Lock likes this.
  2. R_B

    R_B New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2015
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    12
    I thought about it, but didn't want to deal with the whole issue of pump, collection tray, screen, etc.
    Not least of which is the Y-axis lead screw channel, shielding details to keep the wash out of there - and drain it when things go awry, not IF but WHEN.
    Full flood would be needed to blast chips away and that is more than I want to take on (for now).
     
  3. motopreserve

    motopreserve Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2015
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    52
    Fety Mann likes this.
  4. Flash22

    Flash22 Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2015
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    41
    Its alive !!! it needs the waste board bolting down in the centre - The DM542 setup had thrown me, grbl set to 200 steps, stepper is 200 steps the DM542 starts at 400 steps / rev now I couldn't get my head around this then it all fell into place - 200 steps X 8 microsteps = 1600 steps/rev on the DM542

    All setup and calibrated on the 2nd try and working fine apart from the waste board issue, X axis screw does have a fair bit of wobble but it doesn't lose any tolerance across 820mm
     
  5. Bob R

    Bob R New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2015
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    22
    This weekend I was building up my Plate Maker. I chose the 24V version of the power supply, SKU 945 on the parts store. The back of my supply doesn't have the tapped holes to mount it as shown at 1:38:25 in the build video. Anyone else have the same? I could remove the electronics and drill and tap holes to match the picture in the video. Does someone have the dimensional locations of the 4 holes?

    Edit...
    Looks like they mounted the heat sinks directly to the back. I'm sure I could get it apart but I'd prefer not to mess with that. Might make more sense to find an alternate way to mount it.

    Bob
     
    #545 Bob R, Nov 2, 2015
    Last edited: Nov 2, 2015
  6. David the swarfer

    David the swarfer OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2013
    Messages:
    1,397
    Likes Received:
    720
    what about a cheap airbrush spraying ethanol or methanol? the ethanol will evaporate so no cleanup.
    example
     
  7. Joe Santarsiero

    Joe Santarsiero OB addict
    Staff Member Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    897
    Likes Received:
    194
    I think ethanol fumes and brushed routers would be dangerous Dave.
     
  8. David the swarfer

    David the swarfer OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2013
    Messages:
    1,397
    Likes Received:
    720
    vacuum dust collector should handle it. (-:
     
  9. Serge E.

    Serge E. Journeyman
    Builder

    Joined:
    May 6, 2014
    Messages:
    733
    Likes Received:
    248
    One is Milescraft 2211 1/4-Inch Long Reach Router Bit for Sign Making, a 2 3/8" overall length. It is still at about 10$cnd with a free shipping offer from Amazon.ca when total Amazon order is at least 25$cnd. It should be available from Amazon.com ...
     

    Attached Files:

  10. Bob R

    Bob R New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2015
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    22
    Thanks Serge. I had missed that one when I did my Amazon search.
     
  11. Rick 2.0

    Rick 2.0 OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Resident Builder Builder

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2013
    Messages:
    2,259
    Likes Received:
    1,102
    You're getting a pretty good deal up there. That's about $8.09 USD and shipping minimum of $18.75. Amazon.us wants $13.40 USD and a shipping minimum of $35.

    Who says you guys up north always pay more?
     
  12. Serge E.

    Serge E. Journeyman
    Builder

    Joined:
    May 6, 2014
    Messages:
    733
    Likes Received:
    248
    Amazon.ca sometimes has better deals, like in this case. Best of all, I didn't have to pay tunnel toll (nearly 10$) or taxes (13%) or UPS Store fee (5$us/package) ... or diner and shopping if the wife comes along for the ride. Amazon.ca seems to have less items, of what I look for, than Amazon.com though. Deals like this one are quite rare. But it is worth checking both sites before buying, not forgetting others like eBay, etc.

    Eh, don't forget there was a time where the Canadian dollar was worth (slightly) more than the US dollar. We had access to the US buying power (volume from 10 times the population), thus low prices, at a further discount. Now those were the days ...
     
  13. Bob R

    Bob R New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2015
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    22
    I also found this bit...
    • Cutting Diameter: 1/4" ; Cutting Length: 1"
    • Shank Diameter: 1/4" ; Overall Length: 2-1/2"
    • Premium Quality Carbide Industrial CNC Router Bit
    $14.95 US

    http://www.amazon.com/Yonico-36314-SC-Router-Helix-Reach/dp/B00V7AR44C

    [​IMG]

    I need to cut some 1.5 inch aluminum stock. I'm modifying the plate to give some extra depth. Also it looks like you can gain about 1/4" by moving the Z axis C-Beam up a little. Instead of mounting the Z axis V-Slot Gantry Plate flush with the end of the C-Beam, I think it could be moved up about 1/4 inch, so that the C-Beam End Mount is flush with the Gantry Plate. Haven't tried this yet. I'm forgetting but someone else may have already mentioned this in this thread.
     
    Peter Walker likes this.
  14. Bob R

    Bob R New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2015
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    22
    Sometimes we want to use the CNC machine as a drill rather than a mill. Has anyone had success with finding a mini chuck adaptor that will fit?

    I found this but the 1/4" hex shanks will not fit on the Bosh Colt...
    TEMO Keyless Chuck Adaptor 1/4" HEX SHANK to Conventional or Micro-size Drill bit
    http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B004HAA22U
    [​IMG]


    Also found this...
    Edit: looking at the reviews for this it is unacceptable quality.
    Gyros 45-01819 Adaptor Chuck Set, 0-Inch to 094-Inch Capacity
    http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0000DD2N4

    [​IMG]

    The other thought is to have a full collet set for the Bosh Colt that goes from 0 to 0.25", with each collet handling a range of drill bits. Haven't seen that yet.

    A mini chuck would be nice because one size could fit a wide range of bits.
     
    #554 Bob R, Nov 4, 2015
    Last edited: Nov 4, 2015
    Peter Walker likes this.
  15. Flash22

    Flash22 Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2015
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    41
    I did post a page or so back the pin chuck i use is a expo/Unimat pin chuck what has 1/4" shank (expo 12806)
     
  16. Ryan Lock

    Ryan Lock Veteran
    Builder

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2014
    Messages:
    529
    Likes Received:
    281
    Completed the electronics on our C-Beam machine today. She is running well. Just got to use the OX to make some insets on the spoiler board for some wood Tee-nuts to go into. Hopefully will be cutting by the end of the week.

    Most of the parts used to mount the electronics are 3d printed. I have attached all the STL's.
     

    Attached Files:

    Fety Mann and Mark Carew like this.
  17. Bob R

    Bob R New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2015
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    22
    Ah perfect! Thanks Flash.
     
  18. Mike Kershaw

    Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2015
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    12
    DSC00459.jpg

    Just put some limit switches and cable ties on my C-beam, they are working very well, I've put all the details in the resources.
     
    #558 Mike Kershaw, Nov 7, 2015
    Last edited: Nov 8, 2015
    Mark Carew likes this.
  19. lidders

    lidders New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2014
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi all, my first post here. I'm in the middle of building my C-beam. The MKS SBase board arrive the other day & managed a quick test hook up to a stepper motor. All seems ok. I'm still undecided on the router/spindle to use. I'm hoping to be milling alu / acrylic / mdf as well as doing pcb engraving. I will need something that can take 1/4" down to 1/8" bits. I'm based in the UK (Brighton) so machines like the Colt aren't an option. After hours of research I'm down to a toss up between a Makita RT0700CX4 with an 1/8" collet from Elair in the USA or taking a punt on an 800w/1.5kw air-cooled chinese spindle with an ER11 collet. The Makita weighs in around 1.8kg I think & the 800w spindle around 2.4kg. The 1.5Kw is the same price as the 800w but I'm not sure how much heavier. Will the C-beam cope with the extra weight ? I'm slightly concerned that if I go for the Makita I'm reliant on one company to supply the custom collets. This is my first foray into the cnc world so any advice appreciated.
     
  20. dddman

    dddman Journeyman
    Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2014
    Messages:
    468
    Likes Received:
    185
    I haven't found any 1/8 collet for my Makita... Now I use a 1.5kW watercooled er11 spindle
     
  21. Flash22

    Flash22 Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2015
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    41
    #561 Flash22, Nov 12, 2015
    Last edited: Nov 12, 2015
  22. lidders

    lidders New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2014
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    How are you getting on with the spindle? Any issues? Would you buy the same again?
     
  23. lidders

    lidders New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2014
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Had a quick look on eBay but couldn't see any collets - do you have a link?
    The collets I were looking at are here Elaire Corporation I've emailed them to see if they work with the CX4 but haven't had a reply yet.
     
  24. crussell

    crussell New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2014
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey Guys,

    With Christmas coming up, I'm budgeting out to build one of these. I had a few questions I was hoping you guys would share your opinions on specific to the C-Beam Machine:

    1. Given the smaller size of it, are there any real benefits to going with a 24v v.s. 12v power supply?
    2. What is the minimum size power supply size needed in either flavor? As far as I can tell, if using a router it's only powering the 3 steppers and controller board.

    Thanks!

    - Chris
     
  25. Flash22

    Flash22 Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2015
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    41
    24v supply is the better option as it supply's the motors with a higher voltage and current than 12V, giving the motors more torque (turning force)

    i have a Meanwell NES-350-24 (350w 14.6A @24v) that gives you plenty of over head

    sorry i can remember which collet it was out of the 3, iirc it ER spec collet, i will measure it up when i get down the workshop
     
  26. R_B

    R_B New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2015
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    12
    Correct, it is only powering the 3 axis motors and whatever control board you use.
    The additional advantage of 24 Volts over 12 is that it provides more power to those motors - as to whether or not that is a good thing may be debatable.
    It enables higher cutting speeds, i.e. more force can be applied to push the tool into the material and of course accelerate away from the material face faster when retracting - this could be important for "production" work IF speed is important.
    IMO these are NOT production machines, they are prototyping tools for hobby or prototype model building - PLATE MAKER probably describes it well enough.
    Any time "savings" from faster X, Y and Z moves are unlikely - in much the same way that high horse power cars are no faster in city traffic than economy cars, the economy car never reaches its maximum speed in the city, more power is useless - in fact bicycles are a LOT faster, but I digress.
     
  27. dddman

    dddman Journeyman
    Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2014
    Messages:
    468
    Likes Received:
    185
    The only problems I could see is that they work on 220V and not everyone has 220 available in their workshop and that you have to build yourself a watercooling unit. Otherwise my controller came pre-programmed so no problem with that. I barely get over 1 amps of power consuption (220W) while cutting... so power won't be a problem :)
     

    Attached Files:

  28. Flash22

    Flash22 Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2015
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    41
    Over the pond here in the uk all domestic electric supplys are 220-240v @ 50hz, 230v is the norm and 3 phase is 415v (not found in homes that often)

    220v is not a issue as long as the electronics are good quality
     
  29. Flash22

    Flash22 Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2015
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    41
  30. crussell

    crussell New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2014
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks R.B. So if I stick with 12V, is a 10amp PS enough to comfortably drive the steppers or do I need bigger? Hopping to just use an ATX one I have laying around to save $.

    Thanks!
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice