Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

BULK-MAN 3D Store WORKBEE

Discussion in 'CNC Mills/Routers' started by ramps_eu, Jun 3, 2019.

1. ramps_eu

ramps_eu New
    Builder

Hello to all!

I am new to CNC and I am considering buying a Workbee from aliexpress here:
    US $974.0 |Aliexpress.com : Buy WorkBee CNC Router Machine Complete Kit 1.5*1.5M 4Axis Wood Working CNC Engraving Milling Machine DIY CNC Metal Carving Cutter from Reliable 3D Printer Parts & Accessories suppliers on BULK-MAN 3D Store

I have about a million questions, but let me verbalize couple:

-Deflection at big dimensions. Is it really necessary to have a 1,5m x 1,5m machine? Is it inferior in precission compared to smaller machine? I want a screw driven model.

-What about the water cooled 2.2kW spindle? I think it is really nice, but what about the weight of cca 5kg on a 1,5m x 1,5m machine?

-What about the driver board?US $105.0 |Aliexpress.com : Buy MACH3 USB CNC 5 Axis 100KHz Smooth Stepper Motion Control card breakout board+TB6600 4 Axis 4.5A Stepper Motor Driver board from Reliable 3D Printer Parts & Accessories suppliers on BULK-MAN 3D Store

-What software to use? I know some of these chinese boards are limitted to Mach3. But isn't Mach3 a bit limmited in funcionality? Old software?
    I wanted to use GRBL, since I had some experience with it, and the seller offers it, but if I wanted the high toruqe Nema motors the grbl drivers wont be able to drive them (as far as I know).

-is it necessary to use high torque motors? Advantages?

-I want to mill guitars from hardwood.

Thank you for replies :)

2. Andreas Bockert

Andreas Bockert Veteran
    Builder

Hi

Here are a few comments for you to consider.