Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

building first machine - need advice

Discussion in 'Concepts and Ideas' started by Ettuf, Jul 1, 2022.

1. Ettuf

Ettuf New
    Builder

Hi all:

I have never made or used a cnc router before but after alot of reading online i decided it would be a nice project with alot of learning along the way as i try to do it step by step.
    I have some CAD experience and allso some experience with 3d printing

I hope someone more experienced will take a look at my plans so far and tell me what i can do better.

So far i have started makeing my CAD design of the machine and are done with the basic frame build.

I have yet to mount all the electronic´s (limit switch´s and such) but i hope to get some advice on my base build before putting more work into it in case of changes.

Bearings are just for illustation as i dont know which ones ill use yet. Allso i plan to use flex couplings at the motors but they where not included in the stp or pdf for some unknown reason.

The Rails are pre mounted on aluminium brackets and there are some holes for mounting but their location will depend on how i get them cut to length. I plan to use the premade holes for mounting as well as maybe makeing a few more.

As i work with steel daily and have easy access to machines (no laser or such) i plan to make most in steel and bend the profiles myself and then connect some of it with small weldings.

As for the wire´s i am planning to use a hose of some kind (garden hose?) and since i have a 3d printer i´ll make some guides for it and maybe just glue them on.

The things i have bought so far:

4x Rails with 2 slides each
    (SBR20 1200mm Linear Rail Optical Axis Guide with 2pcs SBR20UU Bearing Blocks)

4x Nema23 stepper motors with some limit switches and control boards
    (TWO TREES® UNO CNC Kit with Controller + Shield + Nema 23 Stepper Motors + TB6600 + Limited Switches)

1x Spindle