Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

Boolean skip or remove areas when using raster fill

Discussion in 'CAM' started by sergiomajluf, Jun 2, 2020.

Tags:
  1. sergiomajluf

    Builder

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2020
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    17
    OpenBuilds CAM Software is an amazing software!

    Between that, and OpenBuilds Control, my chinese 2418 grbl laser etcher/cnc, runs smooth, fast and very precisely!

    I'm exploring the beta feature Laser: vector (raster fill) to fill some areas. I haven't been able to "skip" or remove certain areas, e.g. the inside geometry of letters like a, e, o and such.

    [​IMG]

    Is there a way to do this, either within OpenBuilds CAM, or while preparing the .svg file for import?
     
    #1 sergiomajluf, Jun 2, 2020
    Last edited: Jun 2, 2020
  2. sergiomajluf

    Builder

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2020
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    17
    I might have a temporary, albeit cumbersome solution.
    Edit my curves so there is no closed loop, only "solid" shapes.

    [​IMG]
     
  3. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Project Maker Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    7,815
    Likes Received:
    2,602
    Thank you!

    For issues like these :) please include a workspace export (obc file from File > Export Workspace) as well as the source file. Without those we can't really do much :)

    In this case it might be an issue with your source file, as 'e' works for me:

    (attached Workspace - you can import it yourself to check it out from File> Open workspace)

    e2.PNG
     

    Attached Files:

  4. sergiomajluf

    Builder

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2020
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    17
    Thank you Peter.
    If I use the text tool it works as you pointed out.

    I found out that the problem! Me!

    I was selecting either the outside path, or the inside path of the shape. Once I selected both shapes, adding them with ctrl+click, the raster toolpath was created OK.
    [​IMG]
     
    Peter Van Der Walt likes this.
  5. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Project Maker Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    7,815
    Likes Received:
    2,602
    Indeed, choosing what to include/exclude really allows you to play with the result. Raster "unions" everything selected, some of the other toolpaths even have the extra little switch under advanced to select not to Union. Union makes most sense though (allows clipper to detect inside/outside cuts etc automatically too) so it's default
     
    sergiomajluf likes this.

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice