Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

BlackBox

Discussion in 'Other Builds' started by Mark Carew, Feb 22, 2019.

  1. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    9,726
    Likes Received:
    3,091
    I cannot say for sure, as I have not played with that in Vectric yet. But if Vectric can map to X or Y, and its a known process for Grbl boards, there's nothing nonstandard about BlackBox it just runs Grbl
     
    Skip S. likes this.
  2. jbhurst

    jbhurst New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2017
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    3
    I'm looking to replace an xPro V3 with a BB, and have a wiring question. On the xPro, I was using the 5V out from the coolant pin to drive a 500ma spotting laser and was taggling with M8/9.
    The obvious replacement on the BB would be to use the 5V relay, but I wanted to use that to drive one of the new IoT relay switches. Looking at the new coolant output, it is marked now as 24V, so I don't think it will work for my 5V laser, but I don't see anything in the docs on it.
    Suggestions?
     
  3. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    9,726
    Likes Received:
    3,091
    Lasers can be controller from the PWM pin on the TOOLHEAD terminal (proper PWM for grayscale laser) in conjunction with proper Laser control courtesy of Grbl 1.1 (no need to hack Coolant to drive laser anymore) see: gnea/grbl and OpenBuilds BlackBox 4X Documentation

    The relay can selectively be jumpered to work from either the coolant or spindle output: See OpenBuilds BlackBox 4X Documentation if you'd rather control it using M8/M9.
    The coolant output can also drive the IOT relay (I think its input allows up to 30v)
     
    jbhurst likes this.
  4. Sean Griffiths

    Builder

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2016
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    14
    I have set the jumper on my BlackBox to use 24v limit switches (proximity).
    Does this mean the controller will now accept a 24v trigger signal? Or do I need to add a resistor to drop that down?

    Thanks
     
  5. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    9,726
    Likes Received:
    3,091
    The level shifting is already onboard! Plug and play!
     
  6. Sean Griffiths

    Builder

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2016
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    14
    Excellent!

    The only other connections I need to resolve are to my VFD.
    From the Toolhead output, the GRD goes to COM, 0-10v to VL1. I gather DIR toggles reverse. However I am a little unsure what the PWM does exactly.

    Any pointers?
     
  7. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    9,726
    Likes Received:
    3,091
    PWM is for 5v based motor controllers, like those 400w DC motors. Or Laser Diodes
    DIR is a 5v signal, LOW/HIGH based on M3 vs M4

    The header tries to accomodate "all" tool types.

    If you get it all spinning nicely, would love it if you share some pics/writeup so I can draw up nice pics of the VFD wiring for https://docs.openbuilds.com for the next guys! I don't have a VFD here to test with
     
  8. Sean Griffiths

    Builder

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2016
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    14
    I’ll let you know how I get on.
    Thanks
     
  9. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    9,726
    Likes Received:
    3,091
    Sweet! we'll be here happy to help too!
     
  10. Mark Carew

    Mark Carew OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2013
    Messages:
    2,669
    Likes Received:
    2,263
    Hey guys quick update: Yesterday loads of BlackBoxes started shipping all over the world!

    p.s. Only 3 have found the easter egg and made it through to receive their free gift! Keep at it and have fun :)
    BlackBox EasterEgg.gif
     
  11. sharmstr

    sharmstr OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2018
    Messages:
    1,742
    Likes Received:
    1,190
    That easter egg makes me feel dumb.

    Edit: I did it! :)
     
    #251 sharmstr, Apr 23, 2019
    Last edited: Apr 23, 2019
  12. Mark Carew

    Mark Carew OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2013
    Messages:
    2,669
    Likes Received:
    2,263
  13. Chillimonster

    Chillimonster Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    May 6, 2015
    Messages:
    153
    Likes Received:
    81
    I don’t even know where it is!!
     
    sharmstr and Peter Van Der Walt like this.
  14. Sean Griffiths

    Builder

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2016
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    14
    any ideas why the relay isn't working?

    I am trying to use it as the spindle on/off trigger for my VFD. It just needs to close two wires which I have tested manually on the VFD side so I know it should work. I have set the jumper to respond to M3/M4 codes, but nothing.
     
  15. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    9,726
    Likes Received:
    3,091
    Double check the Relay Func jumper is set to react to M3/5: OpenBuilds BlackBox 4X Documentation (not perhaps on the wrong side, or not making good contact?)
     
  16. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    9,726
    Likes Received:
    3,091
    Oh and make sure you send M3 S1000
    M3 S0 or M3 without a priorly set S value will output 0 too. A non-1000 (or more correctly, non-$30-value) S-value will make the relay jitter (as it shares the PWM output)

    If its for the ENABLE signal on the VFD, consider using M8/M9 for the Enable (hack) and M3-4-5 as the PWM or 0-10v outputs instead?
     
    Mark Carew likes this.
  17. sharmstr

    sharmstr OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2018
    Messages:
    1,742
    Likes Received:
    1,190
    Take a good look at the box.
     
    Chillimonster likes this.
  18. Sean Griffiths

    Builder

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2016
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    14
    thanks Peter,

    I'll check those points. I must say I am having trouble troubleshooting this as the USB connection to the Blackbox seems to time out. From then on, the only USB port to connect to are the /dev/cu.Bluetooth-Incoming-Port.

    Only a restart of my machine restores it.

    [macOS 10.13.6, GRBL v1.0.158]
     
  19. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    9,726
    Likes Received:
    3,091
    Make sure you have good FTDI drivers: Virtual COM Port Drivers - the included kernel drivers can lead to unstable connections on MacOS.
    Also check for EMI sources that could cause interference with the USB (route power cables away from USB, etc)
     
  20. cpeterson13

    Builder

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2014
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    2
    I finally got my BlackBox today and it looks good in the special edition case. My old cnc xPRO v3 started to not go up in the z axis every so often so it ruined a few end mills and material. I am excited to finally get this up and running.
    IMG_20190424_143041.jpg
     
    MaryD and Mark Carew like this.
  21. sharmstr

    sharmstr OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2018
    Messages:
    1,742
    Likes Received:
    1,190
  22. Sean Griffiths

    Builder

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2016
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    14
    Ok, so I finally got imy VFD/Spindle setup sorted. The picture attached says it all I think, but here are some words to go along with it...

    Some disclaimers first. I am based in the UK, which has 220V 50hz, single phase. I am using a 400hz 2.2kw 3phase spindle. To drive it I am using a 3hp VFD [model YL620-A].

    The spindle I purchased did not have a Protected Earth installed. However it did come with a 4 pin plug. So I used the unallocated pin as PE. I opened the top of the spindle to reveal the internal wires, soldered a short wire to the pin of the female connector, and a ring connector to the other end of the wire. The ring connector needs to fit a M3 bolt. To connect it to the spindle body, I swapped one of the M3 bolts connecting the female socket with a longer one. This gave me extra thread to screw a nut down onto the ring connector. Then closed up the spindle top.
    [See picture below]

    Power cable in the UK has 3 wires: neutral [blue], live [brown], earth [yellow/green]

    Naturally, I connected neutral to N, live to L on the VFD. Earth, I connected to PE.

    Of the 4 spindle wires, the new ground wire I added, goes to PE also. The other 3 wires go to U, V, & W in any order. Swap any two of the 3 wires if the spindles turns the wrong way.

    I have noticed many are using shielded spindle cable. If so, the shielding should also be earthed.

    On my VFD, the control terminals [FWD & REV] need a switch between themselves and the XGND terminal. I used the Blackbox’s Relay output as a switch to FWD & XGND. To switch REV & XGND, used a separate 12v relay, using the DIR output from the Blackbox as a trigger.

    The settings programmed on the VFD are:

    Start/Stop Control Source
    P00.01 = 1
    [external controller, with panel STOP button still effective.

    Start/Stop Control Mode
    P00.16 = 1
    [start/stop control M3/M5. FWD terminal to XGND, open = OFF, closed = ON]
    [spindle soon direction M3. REV terminal to XGND, open = Forward, closed = Reverse] see diagram below.

    Frequency Source
    P07.08 = 3
    [anolog input - ie. 0-10V from Blackbox]


    The Blackbox settings are:
    Set Relay Jumper to use M3/M5 commands.

    Essentially, sending an M3 command along with an Sxxx command, will start the spindle. If you then wish to reverse the direction of the spindle, an M4 command will do that. Sending an M5 command will stop it. The STOP button on the front panel will also work in this setup.
     

    Attached Files:

  23. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    9,726
    Likes Received:
    3,091
    Awesomeness!

    Mind if I borrow some of the information to add to the documentation?
     
    Quentin Karmark likes this.
  24. Sean Griffiths

    Builder

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2016
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    14
    Go for it!
     
    Skip S., Mark Carew, GrayUK and 2 others like this.
  25. SugarJ

    SugarJ Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2015
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    47
    Ordered at 1:03 PM PST, shipped at 1:45 PM! Looking forward to getting mine!
     
    Mark Carew, Paul Stoller and sharmstr like this.
  26. jbhurst

    jbhurst New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2017
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    3
    How do I set the BB to auto-halt on stepper failure? I remember reading you could set it to stop, pause, or continue, and I don't see that in the docs anywhere now.
     
  27. jamin35008

    jamin35008 Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2019
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    43
    Hey all.... Got mine put together and hooked up to the 24v power source and the fan isn't on like in the video. Should the fan be on all the time? The fan on my power source isn't running either.

    Edit, after looking through things and videos I'm realizing that the power light on the 24v source is on but when I plug in the lead wire to the blackbox the red LED doesn't come on like in the build video.
     
    #267 jamin35008, Apr 24, 2019
    Last edited: Apr 24, 2019
  28. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    9,726
    Likes Received:
    3,091
    BlackBox does not have this functionality, what you remember reading is DriverMinder on the XPRO v4.
     
  29. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    9,726
    Likes Received:
    3,091
    Can you elaborate on which Red LED?

    Fan is on all the time that the Power is on (24v in and switch ON)
     
  30. jamin35008

    jamin35008 Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2019
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    43
    24v.jpg
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice