Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

BlackBox

Discussion in 'Other Builds' started by Mark Carew, Feb 22, 2019.

  1. GrayUK

    GrayUK Openbuilds Team Elder
    Staff Member Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    May 5, 2014
    Messages:
    1,669
    Likes Received:
    622
    Seriously Mark.
    You could have cashed in and knocked out a control box ages ago, but YOU and the Team took your time, learned an awful lot just by biding your time, and listening to what was happening around you. You knew there was no point in making something that was just going to come back at you time and again. :)
    However, we know this is how Openbuilds works all the time. :thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup:
    You guys are so Good!! It's a pleasure to be associated with you. :D
     
    MaryD, Mark Carew and Paul Stoller like this.
  2. ljvb

    ljvb Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2019
    Messages:
    162
    Likes Received:
    59
    I'm still in the planning phases.. but as I read it, this is a complete replacement over the XPro v4 board correct? Is there a comparison coming in the future?

    Also.. USB type B port? 1990 called and wants it's printer port back... :) slight joke...
     
  3. Chillimonster

    Chillimonster Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    May 6, 2015
    Messages:
    153
    Likes Received:
    81
    I much prefer the robustness of the type b. Much better than the flimsy micro usb that a lot of devices have.
     
  4. Gary Caruso

    Gary Caruso OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    May 19, 2016
    Messages:
    924
    Likes Received:
    406
    micro usb is the pits... type C baby!
     
    Chillimonster likes this.
  5. Woodie49

    Woodie49 New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2014
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    1
    Will the Box work with MACH 3 ?
     
  6. Adam Filipowicz

    Adam Filipowicz Journeyman
    Builder

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2014
    Messages:
    256
    Likes Received:
    124
    Curious what stepper drivers this uses
     
  7. joe williams

    joe williams Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2015
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    59
    Previous page...post #28
     
  8. DarkPenguin

    DarkPenguin Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2017
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    38
    Are the plugs for all the connectors supplied in the box with this thing?
     
  9. Ruben Barrios

    Builder

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2018
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    7
    All of the documents I read show it hooked up to 24v, output at 24v, ect. Is this box limited to 24v, or can you run a 36v power source through it for more umph to the steppers?

    Also, congratulations on the new box. If this was released earlier this week, I would have had my order in already. Unfortunately, all my play money went out the door this morning due to an unforseen repair. I guess my machine can wait a week or two until my hobby income builds up.
     
  10. Metalguru

    Metalguru Veteran
    Builder

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2015
    Messages:
    725
    Likes Received:
    509
    No it won't. Mach 3 does not have GRBL drivers.

    MG
     
  11. Giarc

    Giarc OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2015
    Messages:
    2,076
    Likes Received:
    1,109
    This thing looks so simple to connect everything up. I need to do another build so I can use it. I did notice something missing. I could not find a servo input for the eggbot. :ROFL:
     
  12. Metalguru

    Metalguru Veteran
    Builder

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2015
    Messages:
    725
    Likes Received:
    509
    I still can't figure out how you set the stepper current. After reading both the OB manual and the Datasheet, I'm no wiser as to how you would set a specific motor current, say 2.8A. Most stepper drivers have a formula and a set of test points. Plug the desired current into the formula, calculate the required voltage, and set the voltage at the test point to that value using the pot.

    Can anyone enlighten me?

    MG
     
  13. Skip S.

    Skip S. Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2018
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    25
    I'm also curious as to how this compares to the X4 board, and whether this is a replacement in the future.
    I'm slowly getting things set up to pull the trigger on a machine and don't want to drop unreplaceable cash on a dying board.
    I'm interested if it can take higher voltages than 24v as well, or if that's the cap.
    Eager to see if I should add this to the build list.. Thanks!
     
  14. getoffmyland

    Builder

    Joined:
    May 17, 2015
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    13
    for the relay did you consider presenting the normally closed connection? cant think of a specific use at the moment but might be something someone needs
     
  15. jduf

    jduf New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Look interesting, good job.
    I've a question.
    What's the frequency of the PWM signal ?
    Thanks.
     
  16. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Project Maker Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    6,242
    Likes Received:
    2,159
    Just like ALL the other controllers we already stock... also STRONGER (these things arent sitting on a nice display case, their going in the garage next to dust, moving machines etc. Type C ports clog up with dust too quickly. Ask us how we know (;

    No, two different things. This runs Grbl (no need for Mach 3 - what Mach does is already on this board)

    Officially 24v. Between us Engineers, (; +-24v (i am not saying it out loud *cough* The included fan is 24v (but replaceable). Capacitors, Buck Converter, Drivers etc should handle 36v. The XL1509 Buck converter can handle 40v, that's about the lowest rated component on the board) *cough*
    NB OFFICIAL WARNING: We won't be responsible if you try it and it blows up. We have not done any real testing at anything over than 24v - with deadlines there wasn't much time to test outside the requirements envelope... Now that it's released -- time should clear up a little

    Earlier prototypes had a dedicated 3 pin header but we had to compromise something! Those sides are small (must fit onto 80mm wide cbeam/vslot) so with the space we had to play the "what stays and what goes" game. As Servo's under Grbl just run off the PWM pin anayway, and it is available on the Toolhead plug, you can still run a servo, just not "plug in" style. Snip the plug off, put the signal and gnd wires into the TOOLHEAD plug (PWM and GND) and wire up 5v from somewhere to power the servo

    The design spec here is a little different from other boards. It focusses on the "new" users, new to CNCs, new to electronics. From our years of experience of handling the support end of this world, we know that "measure your vref" is way harder for a beginner to understand. Therefore, we instead opted to write our documentation in a way someone who has not used a machine, can understand. The method recommended works! We've been replying that to support emails for years with no complaints. If you are super advanced, you'd probably not be looking at a beginner friendly controller setup? (;

    We actually did have a 3 pin connector (Some of the "leak" pictures in the other thread might still show that hehe) but again, due to space, we had to consolidate (0-10v was more useful!) so we went with a SPST instead. We also couldn't come up with a use case you are going to need both. Instead if you really need a inverted output you can always invert the pin in Grbl config with a simple recompile (;


    Standard grbl: See How to change PWM Frequency. · Issue #1398 · grbl/grbl if you need a different freq
     
    GrayUK, Mark Carew and Rick 2.0 like this.
  17. Morten Dahl

    Builder

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Openbuilds Team.
    Can i use it with my two 36V. Powersupply?
     
  18. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Project Maker Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    6,242
    Likes Received:
    2,159
    Officially 24v.
     
  19. Adam Filipowicz

    Adam Filipowicz Journeyman
    Builder

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2014
    Messages:
    256
    Likes Received:
    124
    is it 8bit/32bit?, basically an arduino?
    are the stepper silent like the DuetWifi or typically loud like Xpro?
     
  20. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Project Maker Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    6,242
    Likes Received:
    2,159
    8 bit, grbl

    Drivers are more silent than drv8825s. (; doesnt make the spindle and endmill chipping away at material any less loud though, motor noise isnt what bothers the neighbours
     
  21. getoffmyland

    Builder

    Joined:
    May 17, 2015
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    13
    when I saw the other reply about space being a problem I now agree... the NC lost!

    I guess if you really need it then the relay pin is probably inside as well and it wouldnt take too much to cut the track and jumper it if needed
     
  22. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Project Maker Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    6,242
    Likes Received:
    2,159
    Its not. But firmware man
    Invert the logic... Easy
     
  23. Rob Mitchell

    Rob Mitchell Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2015
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    35
    @Peter Van Der Walt @Mark Carew It appears there is a serial port auxiliary input. I assume this is for expansion purposes. Any guidance/instruction on how one might use a DIY pendant to jog around the spindle? I'm hoping that a cheap Xbox style controller could be used with minimal effort.

    Thoughts?
     
  24. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Project Maker Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    6,242
    Likes Received:
    2,159
    (; that page of the documentation is still a draft here on my end. Theres a logic gate on the rx/tx pins. When usb is plugged in, the chip connects the atmegas rx/tx to the ftdi. When you unplug usb, it connects the atmega rx/tx to the header pins. So to use them, unplug usb and wire up your 'gadget' (5v in/out so make your own level shifter if the gadget isnt 5v).

    Some ideas for things you can connect:
    Arduino running xpix xlcd
    Esp8266 running esp3d grbl version
    Esp8266 running esplink
    Rpi via gpio serial running OpenBuilds Control
    Etc
     
    #54 Peter Van Der Walt, Feb 23, 2019
    Last edited: Feb 23, 2019
  25. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Project Maker Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    6,242
    Likes Received:
    2,159
    Mark Carew and sharmstr like this.
  26. Anthony Bolgar

    Anthony Bolgar Journeyman
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2016
    Messages:
    354
    Likes Received:
    197
    I was sold until I saw it was 8bit GRBL. Not useful for CO2 laser builds that will be doing rastering. But for a CNC router I think you hit a home run.
     
  27. Metalguru

    Metalguru Veteran
    Builder

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2015
    Messages:
    725
    Likes Received:
    509
    You can use a cheap USB Xbox controller plugged into your PC with some Keyboard software to insert keystrokes into GRBL Panel. The last release of GRBL panel has most of the onscreen command buttons mapped to the keyboard, so it's pretty easy to control the machine using the Xbox controller. I use Keysticks, but do a Google search, there are lots out there.

    MG
     
  28. SciFi-Girl

    Builder

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2017
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    This sounds really neat. How much better than my Cohesion3D controller will this work?
     
  29. Skip S.

    Skip S. Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2018
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    25
    Just purchased this along with the IOT power strip.. Looking forward to see what it can do with my diode laser frame until I can pull the trigger on a Lead 1010 and then it's getting a new forever home
     
  30. DarkPenguin

    DarkPenguin Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2017
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    38
    I'm guessing that's a "no", then.
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice