Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

BlackBox

Discussion in 'Other Builds' started by Mark Carew, Feb 22, 2019.

  1. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Resident Builder Project Maker Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    1,235
    Likes Received:
    675
    Here's a Video showing how Easy:



    :) Give us a Subscribe while you are there, awesome tutorial videos all the time!
     
    David the swarfer likes this.
  2. jbell

    jbell Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2016
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    1
    In the list f machines OX is not listed. Is there a comparable machine? Can fusion 360 work with your recommendations as the CAD?
    I've just ordered the box so I guess I'm committed.
     
  3. sharmstr

    sharmstr Master
    Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2018
    Messages:
    614
    Likes Received:
    334
    Whats more important than the machine model is the motors you are using on that machine. If you have OB motors, you're good. If not, check the specs on the motors and make sure the bb drivers can drive them (3.2A Stepper Drivers (Max rating 4A). The BB is grbl based so you need to use a grbl post processor. The one that comes with Fusion doesnt work well. Use this one: swarfer/GRBL-Post-Processor Use OB Control to send it: OpenBuilds Software - FREE Software for CNC Control: OpenBuilds CONTROL and OpenBuilds CAM
     
  4. jbell

    jbell Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2016
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    1
    I'm using Nema 23
     

    Attached Files:

  5. sharmstr

    sharmstr Master
    Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2018
    Messages:
    614
    Likes Received:
    334
    Cant see the current rating :)
     
  6. jbell

    jbell Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2016
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    1
    2.8 amps
     
  7. sharmstr

    sharmstr Master
    Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2018
    Messages:
    614
    Likes Received:
    334
    You'll be fine. Hit me up if you haven any fusion to grbl issues/questions.
     
    Peter Van Der Walt likes this.
  8. jbell

    jbell Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2016
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thanks, I'll wait until the bb arrives and then try a test.
     
  9. Rob Mitchell

    Rob Mitchell Veteran
    Builder

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2015
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    34
    Any suggestions on connecting to the Blackbox wirelessly / remotely. I would like to use my windows tablet but find connecting with a dongle and USB cable too cumbersome.
     
  10. sharmstr

    sharmstr Master
    Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2018
    Messages:
    614
    Likes Received:
    334
    Not exactly what you want, but if you use OB control, you can use the jog widget on your phone. You'd still need the tablet connected via USB. And its another device, but at least you're wireless for 90% of what you need to do.
     
  11. Skip S.

    Skip S. Journeyman
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2018
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    13
    So I'm ignorant of the capabilities of grbl in relation to tool offsets..
    In the grbl 1.1 on the black box can we use g41/g42 commands for tool diameter compensation?
    I get confused in the wiki because it goes from grbl to linuxcnc grbl in the explanation.. (there's a difference?)

    Thanks - sorry to partially derail the conversation
     
  12. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Resident Builder Project Maker Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    1,235
    Likes Received:
    675
    Refer to gnea/grbl > about halfway down lists all the GCODE Grbl Understands. Tool Length offset is supported (somewhat) but not Diameter.

    Grbl Wiki lists what is supported, LinuxCNC Reference helps user understand what a given GCODE does (Only a subset of the LinuxCNC standard is contained in Grbl)
     
    David the swarfer and Skip S. like this.
  13. Skip S.

    Skip S. Journeyman
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2018
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    13
  14. razohrer

    razohrer Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2018
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hi were you able to get the BlackBox to turn on spindle on through the VFD ? If so would you mind sharing info on this? I have a Huanyeng VFD and can't seem to get it to start the spindle with the M3 command. I've set PD01 and PD02 on the VFD both to 1 but no luck!
     
  15. sharmstr

    sharmstr Master
    Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2018
    Messages:
    614
    Likes Received:
    334
    Make sure your jumpers are set correctly: OpenBuilds BlackBox 4X Documentation

    You also need to send an S command with M3. ie. M3 S1000
     
  16. razohrer

    razohrer Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2018
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thanks, yes that was it. Got spindle running and speed control running through the Huangyeng VFD...very cool
     
    sharmstr likes this.
  17. jbell

    jbell Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2016
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    1
    Just got my BB. How do I get Swarfer/GRBL post processor into Fusion 360? I've downloaded it and gave it a try but can't find how to do it. These screen shots are what I have downloaded.
    Screenshot (9).png Screenshot (9).png Screenshot (10).png
     
  18. sharmstr

    sharmstr Master
    Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2018
    Messages:
    614
    Likes Received:
    334
  19. jbell

    jbell Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2016
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    1
    Followed directions but still didn't show up. There is a GRBL in the file that was updated June 3, 2019.

    The recommendation from Peter showed up and then disappeared. Not having much luck. I wonder if I downloaded the right file?
     
  20. Alex Chambers

    Alex Chambers Openbuilds Team
    Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2018
    Messages:
    680
    Likes Received:
    367
    You need to copy the OpenbuildsGRBL.cps file into your Fusion 360 post processor directory. @sharmstr's link on how to use a local post processor tells you where that is.
    Alex.
     
  21. sharmstr

    sharmstr Master
    Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2018
    Messages:
    614
    Likes Received:
    334
    Here are the steps:

    Go here: swarfer/GRBL-Post-Processor

    Click on the big green download button.

    Click on download zip.

    Unzip the file.

    When you are ready to post, click on the 3 dots in the "configuration folder" field

    Find the folder you extracted and click open.

    Now down in Post configuration, select OpenbuildsGRBL

    fusion.png

    We know this works since its how we all do it :) Okay, maybe just me.
     
    #381 sharmstr, Jun 12, 2019 at 5:40 PM
    Last edited: Jun 12, 2019 at 6:51 PM
    Peter Van Der Walt likes this.
  22. sharmstr

    sharmstr Master
    Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2018
    Messages:
    614
    Likes Received:
    334
    No you dont
     
  23. jbell

    jbell Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2016
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    1
    I know I must be close but the conf box won't open
     

    Attached Files:

  24. sharmstr

    sharmstr Master
    Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2018
    Messages:
    614
    Likes Received:
    334
    I think you need to go one more level deeper. c:\.....\GRBL-Post-Processor-Master\GRBL-Post-Processor-Master. Basically, you need to select the folder where the files are.
     
  25. sharmstr

    sharmstr Master
    Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2018
    Messages:
    614
    Likes Received:
    334
    I just went through the steps I gave you. I exacted the files to my desktop like you have done. The extract will create two levels of 'grbl-post-processor-master' so you need to make sure you select the one that's inside the other. (I have an appt and wont be back for a few hours. Good luck :)

    upload_2019-6-12_15-29-1.png


    grb-grbl.png
     
  26. jbell

    jbell Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2016
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thanks shermstr
    Got it to work so I assume that I'll open it from my desktop when needed as it is not listed in the configerations. That works for me.
    Now to finish the BB assembly.
     
  27. brab626

    brab626 Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    May 10, 2019
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    9
    do you mind sharing how you connected it i have the same vfd but have no clue what pins it uses
     
  28. devloop

    devloop Veteran
    Builder

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2017
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    54
    I understand the software and controller works for a router table, but can it do z touch offs for plasma if I use a floating head?
     
  29. devloop

    devloop Veteran
    Builder

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2017
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    54
    I want to use Ohmic sensing so the Z axis can drive the torch down until it touches the plate and then move up to a certain height that works for the thickness of sheet metal I'm cutting, the Z-probe Openbuilds offers is similar, will it work?
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice