Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

BlackBox

Discussion in 'Other Builds' started by Mark Carew, Feb 22, 2019.

  1. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Project Maker Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    6,069
    Likes Received:
    2,083
    0-10v also uses the PWM ouput. (PWM -> opamp circuit to boost it to 0-10v) so you're left with the coolant output for the Relay.
    Are you using the relay as the ENABLE/FWD for the VFD? Couple posts up @Sean Griffiths wrote an awesome writeup on how he wired his: BlackBox
     
  2. Sean Griffiths

    Builder

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2016
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    13
    Yeah, that was me :). I was having some issues with it which I think is just the relay problem. I have simplified my setup to troubleshoot it, and have omitted the reverse switch. Essential the FWD input is hardwired closed, the relay just deals with run/stop, which works fine with M8/M9 commands, just not M3/M5.

    I am using the coolant output for coolant pump as well.
     
    sharmstr likes this.
  3. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Project Maker Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    6,069
    Likes Received:
    2,083
    lmfao!!!! hahaha! I'm sorry! I didnt even see its you - so I pointed you back to your own advice! My bad!

    OK let me dig in a little deeper:

    So GRBL has only two outputs: M8/9=coolant and M3/5 = the PWM pin. In hardware thats two destinct pins on the MCU.
    Coolant, we have wired via the jumper to go to one of two things, the Relay, or the Output mosfet.
    PWM is wired, to always feed the 0-10v circuit, always the raw PWM on the PWM pin of the header and then also tap off to the jumper to be an option for the relay.

    Thats the hardware limitations to deal with.

    Switching the relay also on M3/5 wont play nice with 0-10v/pwm functions as anything other than M3S1000 will flutter the relay. So the thought for M3/5 on the Relay is aimed more at plasmas (all or nothing) by shorting the trigger switch.
    M8/9 also plays nice with the relay as its not PWM.

    Fighting the limitations of the hardware, the simple way thus still is to use the relay on m8/9 and add an M8 and M9 to the start and end gcode in your post processor/cam
     
    sharmstr likes this.
  4. Sean Griffiths

    Builder

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2016
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    13
    Thanks peter,

    That saves me chasing a wild goose! I will play around with some options, and report back...
     
    Peter Van Der Walt likes this.
  5. estolt

    estolt New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2016
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    1
  6. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Project Maker Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    6,069
    Likes Received:
    2,083
    Should work with those yes.
    Be sure to set the Limit Switch Voltage Jumper to 5v (They say they are only 3-6v - so be sure to set it to 5v to prevent damage) : See OpenBuilds BlackBox 4X Documentation
     
  7. estolt

    estolt New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2016
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    1
    thank you for your quick response, i will be adding a black box
     
    Peter Van Der Walt likes this.
  8. Skip S.

    Skip S. New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2018
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    22
    Since question regarding stepper current and the black box.. I can't find the correct info on what the steps are.
    My steppers are rated at 3.5A, what is the process to check the black box to make sure it's feeding my motors enough juice?
    It's been a while since I've played with steppers..
    Thanks!
     
  9. sharmstr

    sharmstr OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2018
    Messages:
    1,314
    Likes Received:
    844
    There are trim pots on the side: OpenBuilds BlackBox 4X Documentation
     
  10. Skip S.

    Skip S. New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2018
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    22
    Right, I've got that part :)
    I'm just wondering if someone could link me to the process of measuring across what part with an ohmmeter that I'm supposed to probe.
    Last time I did this was...8 years ago? I forget the process of how it's done lol
    Thank you!
     
  11. sharmstr

    sharmstr OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2018
    Messages:
    1,314
    Likes Received:
    844
  12. Skip S.

    Skip S. New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2018
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    22
    Thanks Shar!
     
    sharmstr likes this.
  13. Skip S.

    Skip S. New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2018
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    22
    Last question to annoy everyone..
    I tried to set up my BB to run the IOT relay tonight so I could run a hand router from it.
    Following the pictures on the BB docs, I hooked up the BB gnd and pwm to the neg and pos of the IOT.
    Turned on the BB, connected to it via software, turned on the IOT and tried turning on the tool head like in the YouTube video, I'm getting nothing.
    The light for the switch active on the IOT isn't lighting up, and I double checked that I'm jumpered with M3/M5 on the BB board.
    Also made sure that when I try in the openbuilds software, it's at least a M3S1000 (it fills it in on its own actually..)
    So I'm stumped what's going on.
    Could it be a grbl setting that I've missed?

    Thanks!
     
  14. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Project Maker Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    6,069
    Likes Received:
    2,083
    P
    Post your Grbl settings please?
     
  15. Skip S.

    Skip S. New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2018
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    22
    Sure thing, I'll have time to do that this evening after work :)
     
  16. Rob Mitchell

    Rob Mitchell Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2015
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    35
    I'm converting from a TinyG which allows separate min-max limit switch inputs. I have 3 wire (s, -, +) hall effect switches on the max and min limits of each axis (because I'm cautious!). How would one wire and connect these into the BB limit ports?

    FYI, here are the limit switches I have used on two separate builds and they perform flawlessly.

    Magnetic Sensor (Hall Effect) by Solder / Filament Solutions on Tindie
     
  17. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Project Maker Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    6,069
    Likes Received:
    2,083
    Depending on the design of those, they may or may not be fine with signal wires in parallel. If they arent, adding two signal diodes onto the signal lines before paralleling them should resolve any issues.
    They are open collector, so it I expect them to work in parallel as is.
     
  18. Skip S.

    Skip S. New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2018
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    22
    As requested!


    $0=10 ;Step pulse time, microseconds
    $1=255 ;Step idle delay, milliseconds
    $2=0 ;Step pulse invert, mask
    $3=6 ;Step direction invert, mask
    $4=1 ;Invert step enable pin, boolean
    $5=0 ;Invert limit pins, boolean
    $6=0 ;Invert probe pin, boolean
    $10=1 ;Status report options, mask
    $11=0.020 ;Junction deviation, millimeters
    $12=0.002 ;Arc tolerance, millimeters
    $13=1 ;Report in inches, boolean
    $20=0 ;Soft limits enable, boolean
    $21=1 ;Hard limits enable, boolean
    $22=1 ;Homing cycle enable, boolean
    $23=0 ;Homing direction invert, mask
    $24=200.000 ;Homing locate feed rate, mm/min
    $25=1000.000 ;Homing search seek rate, mm/min
    $26=20 ;Homing switch debounce delay, milliseconds
    $27=5.000 ;Homing switch pull-off distance, millimeters
    $30=24000 ;Maximum spindle speed, RPM
    $31=8000 ;Minimum spindle speed, RPM
    $32=0 ;Laser-mode enable, boolean
    $100=200.000 ;X-axis steps per millimeter
    $101=200.000 ;Y-axis steps per millimeter
    $102=200.000 ;Z-axis steps per millimeter
    $110=3000.000 ;X-axis maximum rate, mm/min
    $111=3000.000 ;Y-axis maximum rate, mm/min
    $112=3000.000 ;Z-axis maximum rate, mm/min
    $120=150.000 ;X-axis acceleration, mm/sec^2
    $121=150.000 ;Y-axis acceleration, mm/sec^2
    $122=150.000 ;Z-axis acceleration, mm/sec^2
    $130=500.000 ;X-axis maximum travel, millimeters
    $131=520.000 ;Y-axis maximum travel, millimeters
    $132=122.000 ;Z-axis maximum travel, millimeters
     
  19. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Project Maker Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    6,069
    Likes Received:
    2,083
    As you've changed these from Defaults, send M3 S24000 to turn on. M3s1000 is just 1000/24000 =1/24th on.
     
  20. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Project Maker Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    6,069
    Likes Received:
    2,083
    The IOT relay is ON/OFF not speed control. So even better, set $30 and 31 back to defaults.

    Make sure yours post processors only output S1000 the relay wont like PWM as its not a speed control
     
    Chillimonster likes this.
  21. David Bourne

    Builder

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2016
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    30
    Is a 3D file for the blackbox available in STEP, or IGS or similar please?
     
    #321 David Bourne, May 14, 2019
    Last edited: May 14, 2019
  22. Skip S.

    Skip S. New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2018
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    22
    Ohhhhhkayyy, I think I get it.
    I thought those values were something that grbl used to estimate approximate speed to return to the control so you got a broad idea of what the spindle speed was.. Like a calculated "guesstimator" of sorts.
    Thank you!
     
    Peter Van Der Walt likes this.
  23. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Project Maker Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    6,069
    Likes Received:
    2,083
  24. Skip S.

    Skip S. New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2018
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    22
    Also, to be honest I think I put those in there to control my vfd because I have a 1.5kw air cooled spindle that runs min 8,000rpm and max 24k..
    I may have accidentally left those values in.. (._.)
     
  25. David Bourne

    Builder

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2016
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    30
    Thanks, but those files are sketchup files and a mesh file, not able to convert any of those formats to step or IGS.
     
  26. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Project Maker Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    6,069
    Likes Received:
    2,083
    That the only one we have at this time. What's your use case why a mesh would not suffice (after conversion)?

    Sidenote: From Sketchup to STEP or IGS • sketchUcation • 1
    "User: dtrarch says
    Take a look at TurboCad Delux trial.
    It will read Sketchup and ACAD files and does export real solids.
    Easy to use too. [​IMG] "

    Sounds like it will do solids for you? Didnt try myself but if you do let us know
     
    #326 Peter Van Der Walt, May 14, 2019
    Last edited: May 14, 2019
  27. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Project Maker Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    6,069
    Likes Received:
    2,083
    In times of trouble, resetting settings always gets you back to a good base :)
     
    Skip S. likes this.
  28. Scotty Orr

    Scotty Orr Journeyman
    Builder

    Joined:
    May 21, 2015
    Messages:
    305
    Likes Received:
    157
    Crack the code (It will make sense if you think about OpenBuilds' philosophies): I got my "ghost case". Get yours ;)
    (If you don't know what I'm talking about, see page 6 of this thread for a link to the magic...)
     

    Attached Files:

    Mark Carew, sharmstr and Skip S. like this.
  29. Skip S.

    Skip S. New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2018
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    22
    Who do we talk to about that, I think I've got that secret code cracked..
     
  30. Scotty Orr

    Scotty Orr Journeyman
    Builder

    Joined:
    May 21, 2015
    Messages:
    305
    Likes Received:
    157
    Just type in the code (there are several different ones - count the characters), and you will be granted access...
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice