Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

Blackbox X32 / Interface / USB job 'completing' early

Discussion in 'Interfaces' started by Robert Merwiak, Jul 1, 2024.

1. Robert Merwiak

Builder

Hello Everyone, I'm new to the CNC world after recently building a Rat Rig Stronghold One (750x750). I've been learning/testing for a few weeks now and keep having an issue with jobs 'completing' part way through. My setup is Blackbox X32 / Interface / USB file. I have an AMB 1.4kW spindle. If I restart the job, sometimes it will complete the whole job on 2nd attempt, but I had one job that took about 6 attempts to complete. It doesn't happen all the time but to happen at all means there is an issue I need to sort out.
    Has anyone else encountered similar problems?
    Rob

2. Peter Van Der Walt

Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder Resident Builder

1) Interface firmware up to date? (v1.58)
    2) If it shows "completed" it reached the end of the file. When copying the file, you are waiting for copy to complete fully and doing Safely Eject before removing the USB drive from the PC?

3. Robert Merwiak

Builder

Hello Peter,
    1; v1.58 confirmed. I updated immediately after receiving.
    2; Yes, I do eject correctly. And it must be the full file because when I re-run the file it 'completes' the job fully.
    It happened to me again this morning which prompted me to post. The spindle stops 'in place' in the middle of the job but was still turning (which I failed to mention previously), Interface said 'Job complete'.
    If it happens again I can take a video of the position the spindle (not back to zero), spindle still turning, and Interface message 'Job complete'.
    I appreciate seeing it will help. Thanks.

4. Peter Van Der Walt

VFD spindle? Or Router?
    VFDs create a lot of EMI problems docs:blackbox-x32:faq-emi [OpenBuilds Documentation]