Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

Blackbox Limit Switch positions

Discussion in 'Controller Boards' started by com3, Jan 24, 2020.

Tags:
  1. com3

    com3 New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2019
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey Openbuilds Community,

    I just finished my small CNC build and was wondering where to position the limit switches. Currently I got one in the Back (Y), one on the left (X) and one on the Top(Z). But the X- and Z-Axis moves in positive direction towards the limit switch, which is wrong I guess? Is it possible to solve that in the settings or should I move the Endstop to the right/buttom?

    Best
     
  2. com3

    com3 New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2019
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Here is an Image of the CNC and the Endstop positions!
     

    Attached Files:

  3. Rick 2.0

    Rick 2.0 OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2013
    Messages:
    2,406
    Likes Received:
    1,208
    Most use front, left or back, right but it really comes down to personal preference. Whichever you go with you put into settings so it knows where to home.
     
    Peter Van Der Walt likes this.
  4. darrepac

    darrepac New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2017
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    6
    Why not having limit switch on both front AND back on Y axis?
    I already got my gantry going too much Back on Y axis due to weird mobile jog dial behaviour... limit switch would have saved me
    If we want that on the blackbox, we have to put them in serial I guess
     
  5. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Project Maker Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    4,683
    Likes Received:
    1,623
    Go for it, if you have Xtension limits just wire them up in parallel:
    GND on BlackBox > GND on Switch 1 > GND on Switch 2
    V+ on BlackBox > V+ on Switch 1 > V+ on Switch 2
    SIG on BlackBox > SIG on Switch 1 > SIG on Switch 2

    If you don't have Xtension Limits, then gnea/grbl applies
     

Share This Page

  • About Us

    The OpenBuilds Team is dedicated helping you to Dream it - Build it - Share it! Collaborate on our forums and be sure to visit the Part Store for all your Maker needs.


    [email protected]

  • Follow us on Instagram

  • Like us on Facebook

  • Support Open Source FairShare Program!

    OpenBuilds FairShare Give Back Program provides resources to Open Source projects, developers and schools around the world. Invest in your future by helping others develop their future.

    Donate to Open Source
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice