Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

BlackBox Grbl Flashing problem (Solved)

Discussion in 'Controller Boards' started by E.Stephen, Nov 10, 2019 at 3:32 PM.

  1. E.Stephen

    E.Stephen New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2019
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    1
    I have a work b1015 everything is been working great love the black box but I opened up openbuilds controller and decided to see what the custom grbl slashing tool would do the settings were all correct and when I hit Flash that's when all my problems started, the black box will no longer communicate with my USB port the logo light is on but nothing else

    what the hell what the hell did I do!!!!

    the error reads no supported firmware detected you need a controller with grbl 1.1 x on it or there is a problem with your controller. close Port com 3
     
  2. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Resident Builder Project Maker Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    2,115
    Likes Received:
    1,063
    Try reflashing a few more times. If the bootloader is intact you should be able to reinstall Grbl.
    Flashing itself shouldnt wipe the bootloader. Unless something went very wrong (like unplugging it mid flash etc)

    Let me know how it goes!
     
    #2 Peter Van Der Walt, Nov 10, 2019 at 6:48 PM
    Last edited: Nov 11, 2019 at 7:15 AM
  3. E.Stephen

    E.Stephen New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2019
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    1
    I think my mistake was when I first flashed from openbuild controller under controller type I kept the open build Black Box selected, should I have used Arduino Uno or Arduino Nano

    What does the reset button on the Black Box actually do?
     
  4. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Resident Builder Project Maker Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    2,115
    Likes Received:
    1,063
    That would be correct, the BlackBox setting, is for flashing a BlackBox...


    Same as the reset button on an arduino. Restart it
     
  5. E.Stephen

    E.Stephen New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2019
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    1
    thank you thank you so much three tries and it's working great just need to keep my hands to myself stop fooling around

    again thank you for your again thank you for your timely replies
     
    Peter Van Der Walt likes this.
  6. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Resident Builder Project Maker Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    2,115
    Likes Received:
    1,063
    Glad its back up and running :)

    (; yes sadly no need for it, the tool exists more for the advanced users to enable 2-axis homing, door sensors etc. If you are doing standard stuff, no need to scratch the itch (;
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice