Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

Blackbox ACRO 1010

Discussion in 'CNC Mills/Routers' started by Sam Krishnamurthy, Sep 10, 2019 at 1:18 PM.

  1. Sam Krishnamurthy

    Sam Krishnamurthy Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Tuesday
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    5
    Hi OB team,

    We are working on a project at SLAC Menlo Park, CA and recently purchased 2 ACRO 1010 XY systems. We are in the process of assembling the first one.
    We have followed the online tutorials and have physically assembled the gantry but unfortunately, have not been able to make it jog.
    Here is our current situation:
    1. We made sure our Nema 17 Stepper motors work using an LED
    2. Our Powersupply has the lights on
    3. The fan on the Blackbox works, and it says motors enabled
    4. We are using the correct grbl settings for the acro 1010 system.

    We connected the Blackbox an oscilloscope to check if there is a signal when we press the jog button on our software, and we have not seen anything.

    Please let us know how to go about debugging this. I will be happy to provide our current settings and any other information on our setup.
    Thank you in advance for all your help.
     
  2. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Resident Builder Project Maker Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    1,746
    Likes Received:
    893
    Did you load an ACRO profile from OpenBuildsCONTROL > Grbl Settings yet?
    (Our profiles set a lot of parameters, including $4=1 which is needed to enable the stepper drivers)
    profile.png

    Depends on where you found it? :)
    :) Including those always help to check
     
  3. Sam Krishnamurthy

    Sam Krishnamurthy Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Tuesday
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    5
    Yes, I did. Thank you for the image. I made sure to also check that $4 = enabled (I saw previous discussions regarding this in the forum)
     
    Peter Van Der Walt likes this.
  4. Sam Krishnamurthy

    Sam Krishnamurthy Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Tuesday
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    5
    I will send a screenshot of the grbl settings being used in a moment. Thank you for your prompt response. :)
     
  5. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Resident Builder Project Maker Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    1,746
    Likes Received:
    893
    1) Is the bright LED behind the logo on the top next to fan, on?
    2) Any red Exclamation mark LEDs on the front?

    3) "Our software" - own solution? or using something known working like openBuilds CONTROL
    4) Post output of the serial log during initial connection and a Jog (OpenBuildsCONTROL)
     
  6. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Resident Builder Project Maker Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    1,746
    Likes Received:
    893
    No need for screenshot :) just copy paste the serial log tab after connection (on connection we pull the settings so they end up in the log anyway hehe)
     
    #6 Peter Van Der Walt, Sep 10, 2019 at 1:32 PM
    Last edited: Sep 10, 2019 at 1:44 PM
    Sam Krishnamurthy likes this.
  7. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Resident Builder Project Maker Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    1,746
    Likes Received:
    893
    Oh and stupid question, but you did remember to reset (power cycle (USB and 24v), reset button on the front, or via the Reset button in software) to make $4=1 take effect?
     
  8. Sam Krishnamurthy

    Sam Krishnamurthy Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Tuesday
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    5
    Hi Peter,
    Here are the initial settings after power cycling.

    [10:43:44] [ connect ] PORT INFO: Port is now open: COM3 - Attempting to detect Firmware

    [10:43:44] [ connect ] Checking for firmware on COM3

    [10:43:44] [ connect ] Detecting Firmware: Method 1 (Autoreset)

    [10:43:44] [ ] Grbl 1.1g ['$' for help]

    [10:43:44] [ ] [MSG:'$H'|'$X' to unlock]

    [10:43:45] [ $$ ] $0=10 ;Step pulse time, microseconds

    [10:43:45] [ $$ ] $1=255 ;Step idle delay, milliseconds

    [10:43:45] [ $$ ] $2=0 ;Step pulse invert, mask

    [10:43:45] [ $$ ] $3=1 ;Step direction invert, mask

    [10:43:45] [ $$ ] $4=1 ;Invert step enable pin, boolean

    [10:43:45] [ $$ ] $5=0 ;Invert limit pins, boolean

    [10:43:45] [ $$ ] $6=0 ;Invert probe pin, boolean

    [10:43:45] [ $$ ] $10=1 ;Status report options, mask

    [10:43:45] [ $$ ] $11=0.020 ;Junction deviation, millimeters

    [10:43:45] [ $$ ] $12=0.002 ;Arc tolerance, millimeters

    [10:43:45] [ $$ ] $13=0 ;Report in inches, boolean

    [10:43:45] [ $$ ] $20=0 ;Soft limits enable, boolean

    [10:43:45] [ $$ ] $21=1 ;Hard limits enable, boolean

    [10:43:45] [ $$ ] $22=1 ;Homing cycle enable, boolean

    [10:43:45] [ $$ ] $23=7 ;Homing direction invert, mask

    [10:43:45] [ $$ ] $24=100.000 ;Homing locate feed rate, mm/min

    [10:43:45] [ $$ ] $25=1000.000 ;Homing search seek rate, mm/min

    [10:43:45] [ $$ ] $26=250 ;Homing switch debounce delay, milliseconds

    [10:43:45] [ $$ ] $27=5.000 ;Homing switch pull-off distance, millimeters

    [10:43:45] [ $$ ] $30=1000 ;Maximum spindle speed, RPM

    [10:43:45] [ $$ ] $31=0 ;Minimum spindle speed, RPM

    [10:43:45] [ $$ ] $32=1 ;Laser-mode enable, boolean

    [10:43:45] [ $$ ] $100=57.143 ;X-axis steps per millimeter

    [10:43:45] [ $$ ] $101=57.143 ;Y-axis steps per millimeter

    [10:43:45] [ $$ ] $102=57.143 ;Z-axis steps per millimeter

    [10:43:45] [ $$ ] $110=5000.000 ;X-axis maximum rate, mm/min

    [10:43:45] [ $$ ] $111=5000.000 ;Y-axis maximum rate, mm/min

    [10:43:45] [ $$ ] $112=5000.000 ;Z-axis maximum rate, mm/min

    [10:43:45] [ $$ ] $120=500.000 ;X-axis acceleration, mm/sec^2

    [10:43:45] [ $$ ] $121=500.000 ;Y-axis acceleration, mm/sec^2

    [10:43:45] [ $$ ] $122=500.000 ;Z-axis acceleration, mm/sec^2

    [10:43:45] [ $$ ] $130=800.000 ;X-axis maximum travel, millimeters

    [10:43:45] [ $$ ] $131=300.000 ;Y-axis maximum travel, millimeters

    [10:43:45] [ $$ ] $132=70.000 ;Z-axis maximum travel, millimeters

    [10:43:45] [ $$ ] ok

    [10:43:45] [ $I ] [VER:1.1g.20181112:ACRO1010]

    [10:43:45] [ $I ] [OPT:V,15,128]

    [10:43:45] [ $I ] ok

    [10:43:48] [ connect ] Firmware Detected: grbl version 1.1g on COM3

    I will add the serial code after a jog in a moment.
     
    Peter Van Der Walt likes this.
  9. Sam Krishnamurthy

    Sam Krishnamurthy Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Tuesday
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    5
    Sorry for the poor choice of words, when I said our software, I meant the OpenBuilds Control software on my computer. There are no exclamation marks on the BlackBox 2AF3FC18-0C7C-4CB4-B4EB-437960F7CCDE.jpg EF2815AE-050B-438D-AB06-DE3872FEDACF.jpg and the green LED on top is glowing.
     
  10. Sam Krishnamurthy

    Sam Krishnamurthy Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Tuesday
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    5
    [10:50:09] [ ] Grbl 1.1g ['$' for help]

    [10:50:09] [ ] [MSG:'$H'|'$X' to unlock]

    [10:50:09] [ ] [MSG:Caution: Unlocked]

    [10:50:09] [ ] ok

    [10:50:10] [ $$ ] $0=10 ;Step pulse time, microseconds

    [10:50:10] [ $$ ] $1=255 ;Step idle delay, milliseconds

    [10:50:10] [ $$ ] $2=0 ;Step pulse invert, mask

    [10:50:10] [ $$ ] $3=1 ;Step direction invert, mask

    [10:50:10] [ $$ ] $4=1 ;Invert step enable pin, boolean

    [10:50:10] [ $$ ] $5=0 ;Invert limit pins, boolean

    [10:50:10] [ $$ ] $6=0 ;Invert probe pin, boolean

    [10:50:10] [ $$ ] $10=1 ;Status report options, mask

    [10:50:10] [ $$ ] $11=0.020 ;Junction deviation, millimeters

    [10:50:10] [ $$ ] $12=0.002 ;Arc tolerance, millimeters

    [10:50:10] [ $$ ] $13=0 ;Report in inches, boolean

    [10:50:10] [ $$ ] $20=0 ;Soft limits enable, boolean

    [10:50:10] [ $$ ] $21=1 ;Hard limits enable, boolean

    [10:50:10] [ $$ ] $22=1 ;Homing cycle enable, boolean

    [10:50:10] [ $$ ] $23=7 ;Homing direction invert, mask

    [10:50:10] [ $$ ] $24=100.000 ;Homing locate feed rate, mm/min

    [10:50:10] [ $$ ] $25=1000.000 ;Homing search seek rate, mm/min

    [10:50:10] [ $$ ] $26=250 ;Homing switch debounce delay, milliseconds

    [10:50:10] [ $$ ] $27=5.000 ;Homing switch pull-off distance, millimeters

    [10:50:10] [ $$ ] $30=1000 ;Maximum spindle speed, RPM

    [10:50:10] [ $$ ] $31=0 ;Minimum spindle speed, RPM

    [10:50:10] [ $$ ] $32=1 ;Laser-mode enable, boolean

    [10:50:10] [ $$ ] $100=57.143 ;X-axis steps per millimeter

    [10:50:10] [ $$ ] $101=57.143 ;Y-axis steps per millimeter

    [10:50:10] [ $$ ] $102=57.143 ;Z-axis steps per millimeter

    [10:50:10] [ $$ ] $110=5000.000 ;X-axis maximum rate, mm/min

    [10:50:10] [ $$ ] $111=5000.000 ;Y-axis maximum rate, mm/min

    [10:50:10] [ $$ ] $112=5000.000 ;Z-axis maximum rate, mm/min

    [10:50:10] [ $$ ] $120=500.000 ;X-axis acceleration, mm/sec^2

    [10:50:10] [ $$ ] $121=500.000 ;Y-axis acceleration, mm/sec^2

    [10:50:10] [ $$ ] $122=500.000 ;Z-axis acceleration, mm/sec^2

    [10:50:10] [ $$ ] $130=800.000 ;X-axis maximum travel, millimeters

    [10:50:10] [ $$ ] $131=300.000 ;Y-axis maximum travel, millimeters

    [10:50:10] [ $$ ] $132=70.000 ;Z-axis maximum travel, millimeters

    [10:50:10] [ $$ ] ok

    [10:50:10] [ $I ] [VER:1.1g.20181112:ACRO1010]

    [10:50:10] [ $I ] [OPT:V,15,128]

    [10:50:10] [ $I ] ok

    [10:50:29] [ $J=G91G21X25.4F5000 ] ok

    [10:50:31] [ $J=G91G21X25.4F5000 ] ok

    [10:50:35] [ $J=G91G21X-25.4F5000 ] ok

    [10:50:35] [ $J=G91G21X-25.4F5000 ] ok
     
  11. Sam Krishnamurthy

    Sam Krishnamurthy Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Tuesday
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    5
    Here are the serial code unlocking and after a jog
     
  12. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Resident Builder Project Maker Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    1,746
    Likes Received:
    893
    :) I'm going to assume this is not it right?
    power.PNG

    Other than that it all looks correct, no alarms in the log, settings looks good, i see a couple bare wires poking out of connectors that could be better (; but loose motor wires usually result in shaking, not "nothing".

    What version of the controller is it (printed on brains and muscle)
    As the power button is off, but main LED is on, it makes me think its a v2.3 or v2.4. If it is the fan will spin up just from USB power too, so the fan being on is not proof there is power :)
    1) measure the output voltage from PSU - I suspect you arent powering the controller (or switch as in photo is the issue?)
    2) If its one of our Meanwell LRS350 supplies, did you see the big yellow sticker on top advising you to set your country voltage? Did you set it to the correct one (110v vs 220v)? If its on the wrong setting it won't turn on properly
     
    Sam Krishnamurthy likes this.
  13. Sam Krishnamurthy

    Sam Krishnamurthy Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Tuesday
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    5
    Hi Peter,
    Yes, the picture was taken without the Blackbox being powered on but the fan only comes on when we turn on the BlackBox. I will check the output from the PSU to make sure we have the proper voltage. We found the switch on the side of the PSU set it to 110V.
     
    Peter Van Der Walt likes this.
  14. Sam Krishnamurthy

    Sam Krishnamurthy Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Tuesday
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    5
    I will also make sure not to have any loose motor wires. :)
     
    Peter Van Der Walt likes this.
  15. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Resident Builder Project Maker Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    1,746
    Likes Received:
    893
    If that doesnt get it going, then I'd suggest building the second one - see if that makes a difference (if the second one works, then it helps prove this one needs an RMA, and everything else is fine)
     
  16. Rick 2.0

    Rick 2.0 OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Resident Builder Builder

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2013
    Messages:
    2,148
    Likes Received:
    1,034
    Take another look at $131. For a 1010 should be similar to $130.
     
  17. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Resident Builder Project Maker Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    1,746
    Likes Received:
    893
    Good catch

    :) not the reason for no movement though, so revisit later hehe
     
  18. Sam Krishnamurthy

    Sam Krishnamurthy Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Tuesday
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    5
    Hi Peter,
    We built the second Blackbox, they are both Version 2.5 and unfortunately, this time we have worse problems. :(
    [16:14:05] [ connect ] Checking for firmware on COM4

    [16:14:05] [ connect ] Detecting Firmware: Method 1 (Autoreset)

    [16:14:06] [ connect ] Detecting Firmware: Method 2 (Ctrl+X)

    [16:14:07] [ connect ] Detecting Firmware: Method 3 (others that are not supported)

    [16:14:09] [ connect ] ERROR!: No supported firmware detected - you need a controller with Grbl 1.1x on it, or there is a problem with your controller. Closing port COM4

    I saw a post with similar issues and we tried re-flashing and get a flashing failed. We also checked the port and seems like the first Blackbox connects but not our second one.

    Thank you for your help
     
  19. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Resident Builder Project Maker Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    1,746
    Likes Received:
    893
    Unplug all your Limit switches (or just test with USB nothing else) Incorrectly wired limit switches can short out power rails. Default endstop-v+ jumper is on 5v (so second board, fails to boot as 5v rail is shorted, as limits are wired wrong). Imagine if one 1st one the v+ jumper is on 24v and the wrong limit was putting PSU into protection (;
    Lets hope theres something there
     
  20. Sam Krishnamurthy

    Sam Krishnamurthy Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Tuesday
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    5
    Hi Peter!
    Thank you so much for all your help. You were right; the limit switches were wired incorrectly, now our first Blackbox works and the motors move exactly as we would like which is excellent! :D
    Unfortunately, the second Blackbox still doesn't do anything. :(
    How can we replace this?

    Thank you again for your help and support. :)
     
    Peter Van Der Walt likes this.
  21. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Resident Builder Project Maker Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    1,746
    Likes Received:
    893
    Has the second one been tested with nothing connected (all plugs except USB unplugged from it?)
     
  22. Sam Krishnamurthy

    Sam Krishnamurthy Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Tuesday
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    5
    Yes and my concern is that the motors enabled light doesn't turn on.
     
  23. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Resident Builder Project Maker Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    1,746
    Likes Received:
    893
    Well, the "motors enabled" LED only comes on when
    1) the firmware has booted up AND
    2.1) $1=255 is set... or
    2.2) The $1 parameter is a value less than 255, but there is an active move going on
    gnea/grbl refers

    So on its own not 100% indicative of an issue (the purpose of the LED is to show if the motors are locked, which depending on grbl config, and currently requested actions, may be on or off)

    The very last step prior to shipping is programming quality control. It gets flashed with firmware, over the USB connection, to validate both work, so before we RMA it's worth spending a little time testing it again, as it wouldn't have left the door if it was not programmed.

    1) Disconnect everything except USB (NB, power, motors, limits, everything)
    2) Check Device Manager -> Ports and make sure device comes up there when you plug it in (purpose: See if the issue is on the USB side, or the microcontroller side)
    3) Check that the Autoreset jumper is installed: OpenBuilds BlackBox 4X Documentation
    4) OpenBuilds-CONTROL -> Wizards and Tools -> Grbl Flashing Tool. Flash Grbl - check the serial log during for errors and revert with an update of what happened (screenshots ideally)
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice