Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

Black Box Controller Tool Changes

Discussion in '3D printers' started by WVance, Aug 28, 2020.

1. WVance

WVance New
    Builder

Hi Folks,

I am new to CNC. I have looked through the thread and understand basically how Black Box Controller is presently handing tool changes until an update is completed for the controller. I am looking for a little additional information regarding tool changes.

I know that the G-Code should be separate for each tool change. Also, I understand that you should not change the XY axis position but should zero the z-axis. My questions, should I jog and touch the z-axis off the material top and then zero out the z-axis? Or just zero out the z-axis from where the machine has stopped without touching off the top of the material? I am a little confused by this point. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

I wanted to machine a sign tonight with 3 tool changes.

Wayne V.

2. Peter Van Der Walt

Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder Resident Builder

That is relative to where you have CAM'ed up Z-Zero, where the other tools were zeroed etc.
    There is no set rule but basically:
    - If you setup you CAM job so that Z-Zero is at the top of the material, then you always to come back and rezero in that same spot. Or if you setup to work in positive-z space by zeroing off the spoilboard, and thats what the toolpath for the next tool is setup as as well, then again, after changing the bit, you have to rezero again
    - You have to rezero by jogging or probing, cannot just setzero-Z where it stopped, that will result in a crash.