Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

black box and Center Finder?

Discussion in 'Control Software' started by dfox1787, Nov 2, 2019.

1. dfox1787

dfox1787 New
    Builder

Is there a center finder on the open builds software with blackbox?

2. sharmstr

sharmstr OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder Resident Builder

No. But you can write or find the code and add it to a macro.

3. dfox1787

dfox1787 New
    Builder

Can anyone point me in the right direction for one? I'm no coder. What code is it?

4. sharmstr

sharmstr OpenBuilds Team

"Center finder". I'm assuming you want to find the center of a hole? What probe do you have?

5. dfox1787

dfox1787 New
    Builder

I'll be using a endmill for the probe.

I use mach3 with 2010 screen set on my other machine and that has all the print scripts built in.

I've got a touch plate with a hole in the corner. I use the hole to find the center of the corner

6. sharmstr

sharmstr OpenBuilds Team

So, you're actually trying to find a corner. I'm assuming your plate looks like this

[​IMG]

Instead of probing the hole, probe the outside edges. Here's the a post about how to build your code and add it to OB Control as a macro: OpenBuilds CONTROL Software

7. dfox1787

dfox1787 New
    Builder

Y
    that's similar to what I have made. I can use outside edge probing. The center probing was also handy for other applications.

8. sharmstr

sharmstr OpenBuilds Team

For sure. The center is good for v-bits and such. Hit me up if you have issues.

Mark Carew likes this.
  9. dfox1787

dfox1787 New
    Builder

Im just reading up about the corner macro. I dont really want to XY and Z probe as Z could be anywhere on the work piece not just the corner. I may machine this area away and need to tool change.

Im looking for XY probing only but a macro each of the corners. Macro for bottom left, bottom right etc.

Like my existing software in mach3:

Attached Files:

10. sharmstr