Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

Ball nose cutting depth

Discussion in 'General Talk' started by Dean Maluski, Sep 1, 2024.

1. Dean Maluski

Builder

I'm new to CNC and I typically cut out 3d models I've downloaded from the web.
    I use Meshcam to generate gcode. When sizing my projects many are beyond 19 mm. I decided to start purchasing 2 inch slabs off Facebook Marketplace and plain to thickness for project. I have deep cutting end mills for rough cut but when when it comes to ball nose for final pass most bits have a 1 inch cut depth. Thinking about this for some time. I think that once rough cut is made in most cases 1 inch cut depth for final pass should be OK except cutting around edges of projects and some pockets. Can anyone provide advice on how they accomplish cuts/3D with wood thicker than 3/4" (19mm)?

2. EvanH

EvanH Well-Known
    Builder

If your machine can take a 6mm or 1/4" bit, then tapered ball-nose bits are available that have a decent long reach (30mm+ of fluting is not uncommon) and many can run with a longer stick-out of 50mm or so. The taper makes for a nice rigid bit, but sometimes the taper angle can mean straight sides on some models have a slight slope, so it is a trade-off against a long-thin straight sided ball-nose. With either tapered or straight ball-noses, luckily most of the finish cutting is close to the tip region of the tool, so low regions of the model that are nominally beyond the length of the flutes can still be cut, although crashing the collet into the higher regions can be an issue too.