Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

auto leveling with Black Box??

Discussion in 'Controller Boards' started by thatguypeter, May 15, 2019.

  1. thatguypeter

    thatguypeter Journeyman
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2019
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    12
    Hi,

    I got my machine up and running with a lot of helps from some really great people here.now i was wonder if its possible for the Open Build Controller software to do auto leveling? I got such a big build (4'x10') and it be great to have the system probe the bed before a run. Can this be done, if so where can I get the instructions.

    Peter
     
  2. David the swarfer

    David the swarfer OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2013
    Messages:
    1,235
    Likes Received:
    616
    The OpenbuildsCONTROL software cannot do this. It is designed to be simple for beginners and you are now venturing into advanced territory.

    The only one I know can do it is bCNC but I think you will have to scan the bed for every job.
    Most of us just fly cut the entire bed (or a sacrificial layer on top of it) to flatten it.

    bcnc autolevel vlachoudis/bCNC
     
    Peter Van Der Walt likes this.
  3. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Resident Builder Project Maker Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    1,400
    Likes Received:
    744
    Alternative suggestion:
    Use the surfacing Wizard under Wizards and Tools to flatten the bed so you don't need to probe :)

    wizard2.PNG
     
    #3 Peter Van Der Walt, May 15, 2019
    Last edited: May 15, 2019
    Giarc, David the swarfer and sharmstr like this.
  4. thatguypeter

    thatguypeter Journeyman
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2019
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    12
    OK...I saw the surfacing option on the new Open Build software and did that yesterday. It took 4 hours to surfaced the 4' x 10' bed..OK..now to finish cutting my boat parts!!!! I really like this control box...will add the laser option later.. : )
     
    sharmstr likes this.
  5. Giarc

    Giarc Master
    Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2015
    Messages:
    1,188
    Likes Received:
    637
    Estlcam also does auto leveling. It has a ton of other features as well. Although, you would need a ton of aluminum tape...:D


    ...or a probe.
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice