Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

Auto calibration/stall detection

Discussion in 'CNC Mills/Routers' started by Mirthgiver, Sep 28, 2020.

1. Mirthgiver

Builder

I realise this has probably been discussed before, but I can’t seem to find the info I’m looking for. I’m very new to electronics and a total beginner when it comes to CNC.

Based on my understanding of stepper motors, there’s a voltage spike when they hit an obstacle (eg the far limit of the gantry rail). If this is the case, why isn’t this voltage spike used instead of physical limit switches?

During initial machine calibration, wouldn’t it be more accurate if the gantry moved from one end of the axis to the other automatically to determine the total number of steps traversed?

I assume either this is something people already do (and hopefully there is some kind of program already) or it doesn’t work how I think it does. Either way, I would be interested in finding out.

If it matters, I’m using a stock LEAD 1010 with blackbox and Nema23 steppers. Thanks for your help

2. Rob Taylor

Rob Taylor Master
    Builder

There may be a voltage spike as the coil field collapses, but only *after* the driver has cut power. First it would have to know to do that. The one thing that always spikes when any motor stalls is current... Except when steppers are being microstepped, because the driver simply doesn't provide any more current to them. The duty cycle of the PWM wave would shorten to compensate for the lack of back-EMF, but that would be the only thing you could feasibly look out for, and you'd really be best looking for that at the driver level using some sort of micro machine learning platform on the outputs. This may be the way the TMC2130 driver performs its sensorless homing, but I don't think that's enormously reliable, precisely because it's a "dumb" sensor and sometimes the exact nature of the bump doesn't overcome its sensitivity level or whatever.