Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

ACRO system for top-down videos

Discussion in 'General Talk' started by Bruce Denham, Mar 14, 2022.

1. Bruce Denham

Builder

Hi All! I need help on how to use an ACRO system (510 or 55) to create a top-down video rig for recording “macro-style” videos from my printed software diagrams and illustrations. I want to be able to program the rig to follow various bezier paths within the illustrations so that developers can be treated to a closeup “journey” through the data and execution flows of the frameworks I’m explaining.

I’m new to everything involving motion control and especially ACRO systems. So I could really use some help to buy and build the rig I need. Thanks so much. Looking forward to finally solving this decade long dream!

#1 Bruce Denham, Mar 14, 2022
    Last edited: Mar 14, 2022
  2. David the swarfer

David the swarfer OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder Resident Builder

cool idea!
    I advise you to buy the kit and built it is as per instructions, till you have a working laser engraver.
    Now take one of your drawings and use it to create a laser cut path that follows where you would want the camera to go.
    The laser engraving (on an actual drawing printout) will prove that you are getting what you want.
    Once you can comfortably do that, mount the video camera and have at it (-:
    (you may need to slow down the acceleration rates of the machine to cater for a) the weight of the camera and b) what you want it to look like in the video

Peter Van Der Walt likes this.
  3. romamaker

romamaker Well-Known
    Builder