Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

ACRO 1010 Wiring layout

Discussion in 'Laser Cutters' started by Bob Waterfield, Jan 24, 2019.

  1. Bob Waterfield

    Bob Waterfield Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2019
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    3
    I have the Acro 1010 assembled per the openbuilds video. However, there is no information or video on how to wire the thing. I have the wiring connections to the OpenBuilds Version 4 driver board. But do not see a way to mount the board to the front rail. Openbuilds supplied everything (wires/nuts-bolts) to hook it up.
    Does anyone have any pictures of how you layed out your wiring?
    I did manage to get a drag chain on my X axis. Not sure how to rout things from there.
    I did NOT order the control board holder that is shown on the openbuilds web store. Is this what I am missing?
     
  2. Mark Carew

    Mark Carew OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Resident Builder Project Maker Builder

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2013
    Messages:
    2,276
    Likes Received:
    1,677
    Hello Bob,
    We are working on releasing the wiring video for the ACRO along with the wiring kit. However the ACRO Wiring Kit is not yet available but will be so very soon.
    In the meantime this is the link to the (unlisted) ACRO wiring video and it should help get you going.
    Thank you for your patience and understanding.
    p.s. I will edit this post once the kit has been published properly
     
  3. Bob Waterfield

    Bob Waterfield Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2019
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    3
    Mark,
    Thanks for the info.
    I have figured out the wiring, including adding drag chains.
    I should point out that one of the cables given to me appears to be small 26AWG and is too small to use on the X axis do to the length. Close to an 8' run. Was able to use one of the heavier gauge assemblies that was supplied. On the 1010 may want to upgrade one of the wire sets to 20 AWG for the X & Z axis. Will try to post some pictures, it would help others.
     
    Mark Carew likes this.
  4. Mark Carew

    Mark Carew OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Resident Builder Project Maker Builder

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2013
    Messages:
    2,276
    Likes Received:
    1,677
    That's great news that your up and running Bob! Thank you for responding and letting us know. Look forward to seeing your build.
     
  5. Bob Waterfield

    Bob Waterfield Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2019
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    3
    The smaller gauge wire that was in my kit, just could not supply enough current to the stepper, even with the current turned all the way up (CNC COntroller V4)
    Switching to the next higher gauge solved the problem.
    This would not be an issue if the builder feeds the X axis from the top and does not use a drag chain. Eliminates almost 5 feet put of the run.
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice