Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

6/19 OpenBuilds Controller upgrade crash

Discussion in 'General Electronics' started by John Fisk, Jun 19, 2019.

  1. John Fisk

    John Fisk New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2019
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    This morning everything was working fine. I got today's Controller upgrade push. I did the upgrade. Now, none of the 4 motors work, not a sound, nothing.

    The Controller software appears to be talking to the Black Box because it will do a connect. If I jog X, Y or Z the values on the screen change, but the motors don't move.

    I have done the following:

    1. Shutdown and restarted my computer, no change.
    2. Shutdown and restarted my Power supply and Black Box, no change.
    3. Reset my Black Box, no change.
    4. If I unplug the comm cable between the computer and the Black Box, the software does a disconnect. Once I do a connect successfully, no change.

    Any ideas?

    John
     
  2. sharmstr

    sharmstr Master
    Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2018
    Messages:
    735
    Likes Received:
    404
    You can try installing a previous version here: OpenBuilds/OpenBuilds-CONTROL I have a feeling that the two aren't related, but its a place to start. The brains (usb side) and the muscle (24v side) are separate in the sense that you can have your power supply off and still "jog" using OB Control and have the DRO values change. In other words, Control has no idea of your motors have power or not. So, because of that, there are LED power indicators on the 24V side of things. Does your BlackBox logo light up still? Have you checked your fuse on the BB? Are any of the leds on the motors axis red?
     
  3. John Fisk

    John Fisk New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2019
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sharmstr
    No motor red lights.
    Fuse is OK
    There is a green small light below the logo on the top that is working, but the white square that I believe is the logo light is not working.
    Just noticed that the fan is not working!

    John
     
  4. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Resident Builder Project Maker Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    1,392
    Likes Received:
    737
    Most likely irrelevant to the update

    Check that $4=1 (Enabled) in Grbl Settings
    (might have had it set wrong at some point, without noticing. A restart of Grbl makes it take effect)
     
  5. sharmstr

    sharmstr Master
    Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2018
    Messages:
    735
    Likes Received:
    404
    As Peter said, verify that $4=1. With that said, the fan is connected to the 24V side and should spin even if you dont have your computer plugged in. So again, has nothing to do with the upgrade/software side of things.

    When you tun on the power (using the power switch, again, not usb), 3 things should happen. The middle of the BlackBox logo should light up, the fan should turn on and the stepper motor icon should turn green. See image

    20190619_102359.png


    If this doesnt happen, with a multimeter, double check that you're getting 24v at the screw terminals on the 24v input on the blackbox.
     
    Peter Van Der Walt likes this.
  6. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Resident Builder Project Maker Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    1,392
    Likes Received:
    737
    Definately sounds like no power, sorry good catch @sharmstr!

    If its a meanwell PSU, check the 110v/220v slider on the side
     
    sharmstr likes this.
  7. John Fisk

    John Fisk New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2019
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Though the 110v/220v slider was on 110v, I went ahead and flipped it back and forth and voila, eveyrthing is happy. Go figure?

    However, the fan on the PSU did not turn on. Does it have a thermal switch that only turns on once a certain temperature is achieved?

    Thanks for the help.

    John
     
  8. sharmstr

    sharmstr Master
    Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2018
    Messages:
    735
    Likes Received:
    404
    No thermal switch on the fan for the Blackbox.

    For the meanwell 24v power supply that OB sells, yes.
     
  9. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Resident Builder Project Maker Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    1,392
    Likes Received:
    737

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice