Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

500w spindle vs Makita RT0701C

Discussion in 'CNC Mills/Routers' started by vanenk, Nov 10, 2019.

  1. vanenk

    vanenk New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2019
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hi everyone,

    New to the forum, have learned so much from reading all the good information posted. About to pull the trigger on a Workbee 1010 kit, just trying to get some quick thoughts on a 500W spindle vs a Makita RT0701C. I've been searching/reading as much as I can, and want to make sure I'm on the right track.

    Plan is for signs/carvings, mostly in soft/composite wood (pine, MDF/ply), some plastics, maybe hardwood when I get more experience. No desire/expectation for metal. Noise is a major factor in the router for me. From my reading, I like the Makita over the DeWalt b/c of the lower speed range (less noisy?), and anecdotal evidence of fewer issues/easier maintenance. And this where the spindles come in- they are indicated as very quiet. But what about spindle vs Makita for noise level? What about brush replacement on these spindles- easy/hard, even possible? If I do go spindle, can anyone recommend a reputable seller? I'll need the power supply/pot as well. Looking to stay air cooled on the spindle, the more powerful water cooled appears to be overkill and unnecessary for my purposes. Any input appreciated, experience is the best teacher so I want to hear the lessons others have learned.

    If anyone has any additional thoughts on the Workbee 1010, I'd love to hear it. I opted for screw vs belt for long term precision/wear.

    Thanks
     
  2. Giarc

    Giarc Master
    Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2015
    Messages:
    1,530
    Likes Received:
    803
    The Makita is more powerful than a 500 watt spindle. The Makita is 1 1/4 HP whereas the 500 watt spindle is about 0.67 HP. My Makita has worked great for me and I have had it for about 3 years. It is also fairly quiet for a router, but that changes as soon as the endmill starts cutting - just like it does for a spindle.
     
  3. vanenk

    vanenk New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2019
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thanks Giarc. Everything about the Makita seems to be on the plus side. Wondering about an 1/8" collet- what (if anything) are you using?
     
  4. Giarc

    Giarc Master
    Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2015
    Messages:
    1,530
    Likes Received:
    803
    I have collets from Elaire Collets. The set I purchased is the MRP-SET. I have been very happy with the purchase. I have not used the 1/4 inch yet because I figured I would wear out the original first.

    Huh. I just noticed they have an 8mm. Looks like I will be spending some more money today. I have been researching that, but was always referred to Chinese companies that would say the collet worked with the router I had and other models which had completely different collet styles so I was too afraid to make the purchase.
     
  5. Giarc

    Giarc Master
    Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2015
    Messages:
    1,530
    Likes Received:
    803
    Actually, I may just buy the metric set. I cut a lot of 1/4 inch slots. It takes longer with the 1/8 inch endmills, but I can do a finishing pass. With the 1/4, I could not do a finishing pass. The 6mm will give me the option. Or the 4mm.
     
  6. mavu

    mavu New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2019
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    3
    Hi,

    I also just ordered a machine, but I went for the LEAD cnc.
    I did have some trouble finding information about the differences between the workbee and the lead.
    How did you decide on the workbee?
     
  7. vanenk

    vanenk New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2019
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hi mavu,

    The only major difference I saw was the workbee has a larger Z axis work area than the Lead- 3.25 in vs 2in. Apparently the Lead is easier to modify- in fact, the parts store has a mod kit to extend the Z axis to allow a work area of up to 8in. I was more interested in having the additional workspace upfront without any additional parts, and 3.25 should be more than enough for what I will be doing at present.

    Hope this helps!
     
    NotAClue likes this.
  8. mavu

    mavu New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2019
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    3
    Thanks, that supports what I could find out. I don't think I will need the z-height, but time will tell.
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice