Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

2015 era C-Beam build. Is there better updated software?

Discussion in 'General Talk' started by Bruce Fenstermacher, Jan 3, 2020.

1. Bruce Fenstermacher

Builder

Built a C-Beam in 2015 and have been using it since about every 2 or 3 months to make stuff for my many other hobbies. Have had lots of fun along the way and have even managed to use the C-Beam to make twice the money I invested in it. It doesn't owe me anything, It's been fun. And it continues to work.

Got to thinking as it turns 2020, 5 years later. Wonder if there is any better software than the combination of free stuff I've been using for the last 5 years?

Currently I use Sketchup 2016 free version. SketchUCam 1.4 to generate gcode which I view in GCode Plotter. Occasionally I also view the gcode in OpenSCAM 0.2.5 but I really never learned that program. I then send the gcode to the C-Beam which is controlled with a using GrblPanel 1.0.9.13. My C-Beam is controlled with a Sparks Concepts xPro V2 9GRBL V 0.9)

This all works but there are bugs here and there. Wondering what is the latest hot combination of freeware or maybe even reasonably priced software. Of course I'm running this on a 8 year old PC but at least it's got an early version of Win10.

Thanks for the discussion.

Bruce

2. Rob Taylor

Rob Taylor Master
    Builder

grbl is now on 1.1, though bear in mind if you upgrade, the pinout is a little different.

Personally I work almost entirely in Fusion 360, and Notepad++ if there's anything to do manually to the Gcode, so my knowledge of the other stuff is limited. Fusion is still free for hobbyist use, though.

3. Bruce Fenstermacher

Builder