Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

1510 produces double cut.

Discussion in 'CNC Mills/Routers' started by Philip Browne, Jun 11, 2020.

  1. Philip Browne

    Builder

    Joined:
    May 26, 2020
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    4
    I am using the OPENBULIDS 1510. 6mm bit with cutting depth of 10mm. All belts are tight. The first pass cuts in a different position as image shows. i'm using Easel software.

    Can anyone help?


    [​IMG]
     
  2. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Project Maker Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    4,095
    Likes Received:
    1,502
    Cutting depth should usually be < endmillDiameter/2 - so try a 3mm DOC
     
  3. Philip Browne

    Builder

    Joined:
    May 26, 2020
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    4
    Hi Peter

    I have solved the problem. There was a loose screw connecting the router assembly to the gantry and have increased the cutting depth to 2.5mm as the total depth is 10mm. Reduces project time and the finished article I am over the moon with.

    I am so pleased with the 1510 and I know that I will be ordering another 5 before Christmas if I can get a good price direct.

    Thanks for your help.
     
    Peter Van Der Walt likes this.
  4. Philip Browne

    Builder

    Joined:
    May 26, 2020
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    4
    The problem has returned. Everything is secure and tight. Can't understand why. I have changed the substrate. I'm using 12mm MDF with a 3mm aluminium composite stuck on top.

    Another question:

    The manufacturer of the bit says that the router speed should be 7,000RPM. The dDeWalt 611 supplied if set on number 1 which is the slowesr speed is nearly double that. Will this affect the cut?
     
  5. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Project Maker Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    4,095
    Likes Received:
    1,502
    If the issue is back, some other screw maybe rattled loose. Same thing as last, go over the mechanics, and just tighten everything
     
  6. Philip Browne

    Builder

    Joined:
    May 26, 2020
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    4
    What about the router speed? The bit manufacturer stipulates 7,000 RPM and the DeWalt 611 starts at around 12,000?
     
  7. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Project Maker Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    4,095
    Likes Received:
    1,502
    Unlikely to cause that particular issue.
     
  8. Philip Browne

    Builder

    Joined:
    May 26, 2020
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    4
    Have checked and everything is tight and secure.

    Any other adice please?
     
  9. Philip Browne

    Builder

    Joined:
    May 26, 2020
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    4
    advice. Sorry for my typo

    where are you in SA by the way. I have visited many times on business
     
  10. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Project Maker Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    4,095
    Likes Received:
    1,502
    Post some pictures of one of the new double cuts etc lets see if we can spot any clues.
    Also post the output of your Grbl settings (Send "$$" and copy paste from the Serial Console)

    I am in the Karoo, Beaufort West but lived in Potchefstroom, Pretoria, Johannesburg, Durban, Ballito all over, over the years :)
     
  11. Philip Browne

    Builder

    Joined:
    May 26, 2020
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    4
    I lived in JHB in the late 80's but have visited the Cape, Durban, Bloem many times.

    Stayed at the 4 seasons Hotel in Durban so many times I can't remember but my fondest memories will always be Kruger

    Brings back many great memories
     
    Peter Van Der Walt likes this.
  12. Philip Browne

    Builder

    Joined:
    May 26, 2020
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    4
    Will make another cut in the morning and then post.

    Thanks for your help

    Ever done any fishing for Tiger at Kariba? Apologise for the spelling.
     
    Peter Van Der Walt likes this.
  13. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Project Maker Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    4,095
    Likes Received:
    1,502
    Negative on that one. A little too far north of us :)
     
  14. Philip Browne

    Builder

    Joined:
    May 26, 2020
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    4
    Hi Peter
    As you probably realise I am a complete novice however I love it!!

    I am uploading some images.

    I am using Easel which I find so easy to use. Can you explain (Send "$$" and copy and paste from the Serial Console please? The edges are also very fluffy. On this cut I'm using down cutting router bit. Although I am getting frustrated I just love the possibilities.

    Thanks again for your help.

    [​IMG]



    [​IMG]



    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     

    Attached Files:

  15. Philip Browne

    Builder

    Joined:
    May 26, 2020
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    4
    Sorry but the images don't show. I will try again.

    In the images I have used a file on the edges as they are all very rough.
     

    Attached Files:

  16. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Project Maker Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    4,095
    Likes Received:
    1,502
    Use OPENBUILDS-CONTROL and refer to the Grbl Wiki for more on the configuration commands
     
  17. Philip Browne

    Builder

    Joined:
    May 26, 2020
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    4
    Hi Peter
    I have done as you asked however they wouldn't copy and paste so I have had to save them as a document. I haven't looked at the control panel since I downloaded it. I jog the machine and set the job via Easel. Is this correct?

    Please find below. I await your reply. Error 3 screenshots.png Error 4,5,6 screenshots.png Error 7,8 screenshots.png Error 3 screenshots.png Error 4,5,6 screenshots.png Error 7,8 screenshots.png
     
  18. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Project Maker Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    4,095
    Likes Received:
    1,502
    $110 and $111 is quite too high (motors will stall out during G0 moves) - set to 5000
    Try with $120-22 set to 100 as well, too fast acceleration can easily skip a tooth.
     
    #18 Peter Van Der Walt, Jun 28, 2020
    Last edited: Jun 28, 2020
  19. Philip Browne

    Builder

    Joined:
    May 26, 2020
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    4
    Thanks Peter

    As you are aware I am a complete novice. Could you kindly give me step by step instructions how to do this please? And I mean step by step.

    Danke
     
  20. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Project Maker Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    4,095
    Likes Received:
    1,502
    Absolutely

    OpenBuilds control > grbl settings tab > change the values as per my previous post.

    Also, to understand what that does:

    Step 1) head over to github.com/gnea/grbl/wiki
    Step 2) Read all of the pages from the link on the right

    Even pages like Interfacing which may sound like you have no business knowing those things, contain valuable info (like why some errors and alarms happen) - so do read all of it. Its a goldmine. And theres almost nothing i know that didnt come from there in the first place. The Grbl wiki really is worth a read. Configuration, FAQ, etc are great pages too

    And then of course we cant help with Easel. But our software has basic documentation at docs.openbuilds.com and we have a chock full youtube channel
     
  21. Philip Browne

    Builder

    Joined:
    May 26, 2020
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    4
    Hi Peter
    This may sound stupid however I thought that the speeds etc were set through Easel or any other software?
     
  22. Philip Browne

    Builder

    Joined:
    May 26, 2020
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    4
    I have been setting the feed and plunge rate going by the chart supplied by the router bit manufacturer.
     
  23. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Project Maker Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    4,095
    Likes Received:
    1,502
    No, G1/2/3 cut moves have Feedrate (from GCode)
    G0 seek/rapid moves move at what is set in Grbl Settings. That is a Gcode standard (one exception: some 3D printing firmwares violated that standard some years ago by also accepting F's for G0s but that is wrong. Refer G Codes)

    Do read that Grbl wiki, it is explained in there:

    Grbl Wiki > Configuration > $110-112 direct link: (click here - > gnea/grbl)

    Says right in the last paragraph

    For you own sake, go have a read through it all. Its just for your benefit...

    G0 moves are the moves between cuts. Explains why the cut looks good but it looses position between subsequent cuts
     
    #23 Peter Van Der Walt, Jun 29, 2020
    Last edited: Jun 29, 2020
  24. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Project Maker Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    4,095
    Likes Received:
    1,502
    Does that manufacturer know you have an extrusion based machine and have their numbers based in the hobby grade machine world? Or is their numbers based on the assumptions that its a big heavy cast iron machine with no deflection. If not those settings will also be a tad aggressive, especially considering the 1510 has the longest axes. Longer the axis. More the leverage for deflection. See How to calculate V-Slot® deflection for more on that
     
  25. Philip Browne

    Builder

    Joined:
    May 26, 2020
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    4
    Hi Peter
    I have done exactly to the letter in your last post however I get the following:
     

    Attached Files:

  26. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Project Maker Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    4,095
    Likes Received:
    1,502
    Error says you accidentally emptied the $10 field. Maybe a misclick or miskeyboard. Just hit refresh grbl settings, then try again. Check that $10 has a value - again, refer to the Wiki (seeing a pattern yet lol) : gnea/grbl (default is $10=1)
     
  27. Philip Browne

    Builder

    Joined:
    May 26, 2020
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    4
    What would us novices do without someone like you?

    Very grateful.

    So I can get closer to solving the problem what plunge rate and fee speed should I be using for MDF 12mm with a 3mm Aluminium Composite stuck on top bearing in mind that the 2 sheets of aluminium are 0.2mm thick each?
     
  28. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Project Maker Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    4,095
    Likes Received:
    1,502
    (; they would read the Grbl wiki, honestly, that's all I know more than a novice :)


    No idea! But

    a) a 1510 is not an aluminum cutting machine - might have to look at (and you'll have to do the googling/youtubing thing yourself here) into Trichoidal milling - deeper cut to tackle the alu with the internal layer at the same time, maybe to it in like 2 Trochoidal passes (top layer of 0.2mm alu + 1.5mm of the plastic inside, and then another pass for the remaining half of the plastic and bottom alu skin. (Fusion360 Adaptive toolpaths = trochoidal)
    b) Can't really give you numbers, because the endmill diameter, number of flutes, etc all come into play - but you can quickly hear and see the symptoms of a bad cutting recipe
    - Make chips, not dust
    - Listen to bogging down, chattering, or rubbing - signs of incorrect feedrates
    - sometimes you might think slower feedrate is needed, when in fact faster is needed, use the Feed override slider to see what it should do to stop whatever bad thing it is doing
    - moving too slow causes cutters to overheat and rub against the material instead of cutting. Go fast enough to make chips as chips removes heat from the cut
     
  29. Philip Browne

    Builder

    Joined:
    May 26, 2020
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    4
    Thanks Peter

    All makes sense. I will have to play a little.

    Kind regards
     
  30. Philip Browne

    Builder

    Joined:
    May 26, 2020
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    4
    I find that when I am cutting into MDF dust is produced and when cutting into aluminium chips are produced. Is this normal please?
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice