Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

1050 with Fusion 360 need a tutor for an hour or 2 in Los Angeles

Discussion in 'General Talk' started by Mike Nieman, Nov 4, 2020.

  1. Mike Nieman

    Builder

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2020
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    9
    I am new to the CNC world. I built the 1050 and use Fusion 360 but my output is not what I thought. Either its my build or the options in Fusion 360. I am trying to engrave text in wood but it looks bad. Where can I find someone in Los Angeles to show me where I am going wrong? I am in the South Bay but could came to you if I can bring my machine. I attached a Fusion 360 file that I created.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. sharmstr

    sharmstr OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2018
    Messages:
    1,543
    Likes Received:
    1,017
    What looks bad about it? Pictures and details on what post processor and your processor settings would be helpful. The only thing that sticks out to me is your 1.5mm depth of cut. Thats pretty deep for an engrave.
     
    Peter Van Der Walt likes this.
  3. Mike Nieman

    Builder

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2020
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    9
    Shawn, thanks for replying. Attached is the wood carving which I think looked like scribbles. Not sure which preferences I should post. Openbuilds Control does not have any options that effect quality. Fusion 360 has so many options not sure what to send.
     

    Attached Files:

  4. sharmstr

    sharmstr OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2018
    Messages:
    1,543
    Likes Received:
    1,017
    That doesnt look like a fusion problem. That looks like something is loose on your machine. Try something simple like a circle and report back the results.
     
    Peter Van Der Walt likes this.
  5. Mike Nieman

    Builder

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2020
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    9
    Shawn, I think I just found the problem. my Y is not moving as free as it should and I think I need to figure out why my wheels are so hard to turn. Thanks for your help and I will update you once I fix this.
     
    sharmstr likes this.
  6. rscamp

    rscamp Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2019
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    58
    FWIW I loaded your model and simulated the cut. It profiled the letters to the specified cut depth instead of plunging the cutter to occupy the full width of the variable width characters. I discovered this happened because the bottom height was set to a very small value delta from the top surface. I changed it and the engraving now looks proper. I'm not sure it is a good idea to use such a slender cutter for engraving though... See pics attached.
     

    Attached Files:

  7. rscamp

    rscamp Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2019
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    58
    Rest assured your machine can do it, Mike. This sample was made on my Workbee 1050. I think I used a 60 Deg. V bit in this case...
     

    Attached Files:

  8. Mike Nieman

    Builder

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2020
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    9
    Rscamp, thanks for the info. I will try it. I thought my -1.5mm was the depth of my cut. Is there a chance of sharing your fusion file?
     
  9. rscamp

    rscamp Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2019
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    58
    File attached.

    Basically, -1.5mm is a shallower DOC than the engraving requires in your design. I increased it to 10mm to be sure it was deep enough. Another suggestion - I wouldn't add additional stock when doing engraving. I removed the added stock from your Manufacturing setup. I think you want to engrave based on the material's actual top surface. Added stock material height would falsely enlarge the real character width.
     

    Attached Files:

    sharmstr likes this.
  10. Mike Nieman

    Builder

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2020
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    9
    Rscamp, THANK YOU so much for the valuable info.
     
  11. Mike Nieman

    Builder

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2020
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    9
    I did the attached Os to check how clean it could do circles but it still looks like scribbles. I also attached the Fusion file that I inserted the SVG of a upper O and lower o. Sorry I could not figure out how to do a clean circle in Fusion yet. Importing an SVG is the best I could do right now. Any help to tell me what I am doing wrong would be greatly appreciated.

    Mike
     

    Attached Files:

    rscamp likes this.
  12. rscamp

    rscamp Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2019
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    58
    Mike. I loaded your f3d file. As before, because of the shallow bottom depth specified it is tracing the outside of the "O"s (see attached) rather than engraving the letters. But this is obviously not your biggest problem.

    There are people here with a lot more experience than I troubleshooting the Openbuilds machines, but I would suggest some or all of the following:
    1. Your machine appears to be wandering aimlessly because of a mechanical problem. It appears unable to hold path due to tool loads. Grab the tool head (router or spindle) and force it hard by hand in each +/- X, Y and Z axis while the machine is powered on but stationary. If there is any play at all at the head or along the axes then the machine needs some serious mechanical attention before considering anything else.
    2. Do an air cut and observe the motion. It must appear to move exactly as per the simulation in Fusion.
    3. Try material that is easier to machine first. This follows 2. Pink insulation foam boards from Home Depot make good prototype material.
    4. Check the cutting bit. Is it blunt at the bottom? (It seems to be cutting a flat bottom rather than a "V" although this could be because the cutting head is loose and the bit is wandering.)
    5. Check the speeds and feeds, although they look reasonable to me at first glance.
    6. Check the stepper driver current setting per the documentation.
     

    Attached Files:

    Peter Van Der Walt likes this.
  13. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Project Maker Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    7,815
    Likes Received:
    2,602
    Mechanically something is very loose
    - check eccentric adjustments on wheels
    - check grubscrews on all shaft couplers (motor and leadscrew ends both) and liberally loctite them.
    - check stop collars are tight up against the bearings
    - same for any pulleys if you have belt driven axes. Check and locktite pulley grubscrews so they dont slip on the motor shafts
    - tension belts properly
    - if you have belts, dont forget the cable ties that stop them slipping out of the holders.
    - check all fasteners
     
    sharmstr likes this.
  14. Mike Nieman

    Builder

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2020
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    9
    Peter and rscamp, I want to THANK YOU both for all your help. It was a loose connection with my stepper motor on one side of my Y. I think I am OK now.

    Mike
     
    rscamp and Peter Van Der Walt like this.
  15. rscamp

    rscamp Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2019
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    58
    Glad you got it sorted!
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice