Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

Stuck with my C-Beam build at the control software

Discussion in 'Control Software' started by Bruce Fenstermacher, Jan 26, 2016.

1. Bruce Fenstermacher

Builder

At the point with my C-Beam build that I need to power up my controller which is a CNC xPRO CONTROLLER V2.

I have been a Mac user since '86 and so I'd rather use my Macbook Pro with OSx than repair an old PC tablet my wife discarded. So far I've struck out.

I've been running Oracle's Virtual Box for many years now to run PC software in a virtual machine which is running XP. Naturally I'm trying to run GRBL in that environment. The software boots up and the card lights up. The Virtual Box detects the controller on the USB port and I activate it. But it will not activate properly and I can't get any more communication between the VB and the card. I'm not surprised as I've had to fool with the VB a little in the past to get scanners and printers to work but I've always been able to figure it out. Not this time. Went looking for instructions on the CNC xPro at Spark Concepts site but could not find supporting documentation. What I'm looking for is the controller board is suppose to be able to be used over WIFI as I understand but how? GRBL has a IP option. Using IP over wire or wireless has worked before with printers.

Anyone have any suggestions?

So I decide to backup and punt and use Universal Gcode Sender from OSx. When I click on the .jar file it comes back with , the .jar file won't launch window. I've downloaded the latest Java version which of course brings up another issue as I use Chrome as my browser and Chrome doesn't support Java as it did. I switched to Safari to see if it made any different but still can't get UGS to launch in OSx. BTW I also went to UGS site and tried the last two stable versions including a fix required for version 1.08 but to no avail.