Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

Soldering advice - equipment?

Discussion in 'General Talk' started by Rodm, Mar 7, 2017.

1. Rodm

Rodm Well-Known
    Builder

Hi,
    I've done a lot of soldering but that was on copper plumbing pipe. My hands look more like bear paws than a surgeons hands but I'm up for the challenge. Any advice on how to or gear to buy would be appreciated!

Thanks

2. Kyo

Kyo Veteran
    Staff Member Builder Resident Builder

Soldering is not to bad. A little patience and trial and error go a long way. There are a lot of helpful youtube videos for soldering but nothing quite like diving in and giving it a go.

While I am no expert on the subject here are a few tips I have picked up and some of the equipment I like.

- Heat the joint and not the solder. When I was just getting into soldering I found I heated the solder up to get it to "melt" rather then heating up the joint and letting the joint melt the solder

- Clean and prep. from corrosion on old striped wires to dust and grim. A clean surface is a whole lot easier to solder.

- Twist or braid wires together before soldering them. Don't rely on just the solder.

- Keep your soldering iron tip clean and tinned. A corroded iron is a arse and a half to solder with.

I really like the Hakko FX888D "Here" A little on the higher cost of things but a good unit. I also still like my little Weller "Here" still gets the job done just fine. Both are easy to get spare tips for and work well.

A set of helping hands are nice to have when things need to be held in place. You can pick them up cheap "here" or put that 3d printer to use for a fun side project and print some "here"

Use quality solder! This is something I shrugged off until I tried something better then the two buck packs I started with. Now I mostly use Kester rosin core solder "Here". Good stuff!

#2 Kyo, Mar 7, 2017
    Last edited: Mar 8, 2017
  3. Giarc

Giarc OpenBuilds Team