Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

SketchUcam

Discussion in 'CAM' started by Mark Carew, Aug 13, 2015.

  1. Travis Hamilton

    Travis Hamilton Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2016
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    4
    Hi guys i was wnondering if it is possible to make X0 Y0 in the middle of the drawing? This would be handy when trying to cut in a certain spot in a part that your not cutting the outside. Have not tryed it yet just wondering if it can ne done.
     
    silvano silva likes this.
  2. David the swarfer

    David the swarfer OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2013
    Messages:
    701
    Likes Received:
    326
    There is a tool on the toolbar for that...
    SketchUcam Toolbar
     
  3. Gary Caruso

    Gary Caruso Veteran
    Builder

    Joined:
    May 19, 2016
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    64
    Anybody else have issues with sketchup/Ucam crashing? Using the latest free one. Seems like half the time when I move a somewhat complex component around the screen it will crash or when trying to select multiple parts or add many plunge cuts for example.. I get the thinking circle then "not responding" above the toolbar.. was doing it with autosaves quite often as well, but i don't see that much anymore since last sketchup update.
    my computer is due for an upgrade, But it's just the program that stops responding the computer isn't crashing. Attached is the hardware list i'm using, love how Newegg keeps all your old orders. Appreciate recommendations for the new PC (budget minded). I'm using windows 10, 64bit, up to date drivers, maybe the 1440 display is asking too much of the GPU?...
     

    Attached Files:

  4. David the swarfer

    David the swarfer OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2013
    Messages:
    701
    Likes Received:
    326
    turn off autosave, it is a well known Sketchup crasher.
    I have Sketchup 8, 2013/2014/2015/2016 and 2017 installed and they all benefit from having autosave turned off, I have not had a crash in a long time.
     
  5. David the swarfer

    David the swarfer OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2013
    Messages:
    701
    Likes Received:
    326
    turn off autosave, it is a well known Sketchup crasher.
    I have Sketchup 8, 2013/2014/2015/2016 and 2017 installed and they all benefit from having autosave turned off, I have not had a crash in a long time.
     
  6. Gary Caruso

    Gary Caruso Veteran
    Builder

    Joined:
    May 19, 2016
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    64

    Thanks, I'll give that a try
     
  7. Giarc

    Giarc Master
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2015
    Messages:
    511
    Likes Received:
    248
    I do find it ironic that auto-save causes my Sektchup crashes, but then I am glad it auto-saved when I open the auto-saved file after the crash.o_O
     
  8. Gary Caruso

    Gary Caruso Veteran
    Builder

    Joined:
    May 19, 2016
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    64
    Yes i was thinking the same thing ;)
     
  9. JustinTime

    JustinTime Master
    Builder

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2013
    Messages:
    914
    Likes Received:
    180
    Auto-save saves the file as .skp. When it is disabled Sketchup still saves backup as .skb. I don't know the interval of this but it does it and you can open it in case of lost files. You will lose the latest update, and that goes for the auto-save too, but most of it is still there.
     
  10. Nels

    Nels Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    May 29, 2017
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    6
    I imported a dxf file into sketch to run sketchucam for the g-codes. I am trying to enter the outside and inside cut tools, but am having problems. This is all new to me, I was wondering if there are any tutorials around. I have viewed a few and learnt somethings, but would like better documentation especially for working on imported dxf files. Any help would be appreciated, thanks.
     
  11. David the swarfer

    David the swarfer OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2013
    Messages:
    701
    Likes Received:
    326
    how to import dxf and generate gcode from it


    and the official howto videos as a playlist..


    you should also read the manual, just click the big blue question mark in the toolbar helptool_large.png
     
  12. Nels

    Nels Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    May 29, 2017
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    6
    Thank you.
     
  13. DODDY SANJAYA

    Builder

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2017
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've done install sketchucam on SU 2017 for mac sierra and it works fine, but by the time i've draw project and go to g code plotter do not want to work, is there any solution? I look file : Gplot.exe , not support for Mac iOS
     
    #73 DODDY SANJAYA, Jun 30, 2017
    Last edited: Jun 30, 2017
  14. JustinTime

    JustinTime Master
    Builder

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2013
    Messages:
    914
    Likes Received:
    180
    Gplot.exe is a Window program.
     
  15. David the swarfer

    David the swarfer OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2013
    Messages:
    701
    Likes Received:
    326
    You can use UGS or bCNC on Mac, both will display the gcode for you but you have to start them outside of sketchup.
     

Share This Page

  • About Us

    The OpenBuilds Team is dedicated helping you to Dream it - Build it - Share it! Collaborate on our forums and be sure to visit the Part Store for all your Building needs!
  • Like us on Facebook

  • Support Open Source FairShare Program!

    OpenBuilds FairShare Give Back Program provides resources to Open Source projects, developers and schools around the world. Invest in your future by helping others develop theirs!

    Donate to FairShare!