Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

Help! The body of my build disappeared!!

Discussion in 'OpenBuilds Bug Report' started by Scotty Orr, Aug 30, 2017.

  1. Scotty Orr

    Scotty Orr Journeyman
    Builder

    Joined:
    May 21, 2015
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    9
    I've been working on this for almost a week now. I did keep a local backup a couple of days ago, but if you guys can't recover what I had 2 hours ago, I've lost 2 full days of work (And I've worked on it a lot the last two days!)

    The thing that happened was I left my computer in Preview Build mode then clicked "Edit Build" and got a "Captcha" screen (I had never seen that before). When I clicked the captcha and OK, it took me to Edit Build, but the entire body of my build was gone!!

    Please Help!
    Scotty Orr
     
  2. MaryD

    MaryD OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2016
    Messages:
    400
    Likes Received:
    405
    Taking a look now.
     
  3. Scotty Orr

    Scotty Orr Journeyman
    Builder

    Joined:
    May 21, 2015
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    9
    Thanks Mary! FWIW, I was able to recover the text (but that's all) from my browser cache. I can at least reconstruct the Build if I have to. (Couldn't recover the source, so if I need to go that route, I'll have to redo the inline image files and the google photo links, etc.) I can live with that - at least I won't have to come up with the words or formatting for my instructions again.
    Thanks,
    Scotty
     
  4. MaryD

    MaryD OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2016
    Messages:
    400
    Likes Received:
    405
  5. Scotty Orr

    Scotty Orr Journeyman
    Builder

    Joined:
    May 21, 2015
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    9
    I suspected the attachments might still be there, because even my recent edits in the other sections were still there (only the Body was missing). I didn't want to check though because I didn't want to mess things up by entering edit mode in the body while you guys were working on it. I can reconstruct it in a couple of hours using what I have.

    I suspect Chrome sent something to your server that wiped out the code in the body. I suspect this because I wasn't able to use chrome to upload files in other sections last week. (I used Safari to upload those.) However, I am using the latest version of Chrome and don't have any strange settings. I was a little surprised when the Captcha popped up, but thought nothing of it until I saw that the Body had disappeared. I still suspect a small bug on your end in how it deals with Chrome, but you can quit looking on my account. I'm satisfied and will reconstruct the Build using Safari.

    Thanks for the effort.
    Scotty
     
    MaryD likes this.
  6. Scotty Orr

    Scotty Orr Journeyman
    Builder

    Joined:
    May 21, 2015
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    9
    Mary, I don't know if you see the contact tickets, but it happened again. This time with Safari. And again after a captcha. It could be that my build is just too long or I'm not saving often enough.. Fortunately I just lost about an hours work this time. (I backed up the BB code about an hour ago.) It's still pretty frustrating though. I was nearing the end - but I think I'll finish it offline (except for formatting) and upload it sometime tomorrow or Friday.
    Scotty
     
  7. Scotty Orr

    Scotty Orr Journeyman
    Builder

    Joined:
    May 21, 2015
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    9
    Update, I did just get it back to my previous save (Safari history is better than chrome). Last hour is still missing though - but I'm good for now. One other note, when it happened this last time, I did get a java-script (or something) error, but stupid me, I didn't copy it down. I just hit reload, got another captcha, and then was taken to my empty build. If it happens again, I will copy any error I get.
    I've learned my lesson.

    Talk to you later.
    Scotty
     
  8. Scotty Orr

    Scotty Orr Journeyman
    Builder

    Joined:
    May 21, 2015
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    9
    It happened again and I captured the screen after the captcha. It was plain white with the text:

    {"_redirectStatus":"ok","_redirectTarget":"https:\/\/www.openbuilds.com\/builds\/quorxz-a-string-driven-core-xz-printer.5489\/edit-article","_redirectMessage":"Build Updated","_visitor_conversationsUnread":"0","_visitor_alertsUnread":"0"}

    Doesn't look like an error but an incomplete rendering of a page.

    When did you guys start implementing Captchas.? I hadn't seen any until this morning. And know I'm seeing them all of the time.
     
  9. Scotty Orr

    Scotty Orr Journeyman
    Builder

    Joined:
    May 21, 2015
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    9
    I apologize for posting this thread in this forum. I just now noticed the "do not post bugs about builds" message. Please feel free to move the thread. I do have more to report, but I will do so in the appropriate forum.
    Sorry,
    Scotty
     
  10. Rick 2.0

    Rick 2.0 OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2013
    Messages:
    1,403
    Likes Received:
    564
    Your problem was due to the forum software so yes, you posted in the right spot. ("Bugs about builds" refers to problems with specific projects not working like mechanical conflicts, wiring errors, etc. which should be posted to that specific build.)
     
    Scotty Orr likes this.
  11. MaryD

    MaryD OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2016
    Messages:
    400
    Likes Received:
    405
    Thread update: Scotty was able to post his build (check it out). Issue resolved and we are making additional enhancements to the Submit a Build pages to make things easier for you!
     
    Scotty Orr likes this.

Share This Page