Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

g540, mach 3,4 or other?

Discussion in 'Control Software' started by Rodm, Feb 11, 2017.

1. Rodm

Rodm Well-Known
    Builder

Hi,
    Most of the suggestions I've gotten and stuff I've found (probably kind of looking for) the g540 is matched with Mach 3. As I've said before I'm new to all this so taking advice (most from you folks here!) from people that know what's up and trying to help make my build a good machine and keep my newbie headaches to a minimum I chose to go that way. I'm still along way from having the build done, still ordering and waiting for stuff. I went to get the Mach software. I have Fusion 360, Sketchup trials and Cura - some 3d printing stuff for the A8 I bought for fun and as a pre first build - build. I was wanting to work and get used to things so I'm ready when its done! Sorry the story is getting long. Mach 3 is getting phased out - loosing support. Mach 4 is probably great but new....? Also $200 and the license is only good on the computer that controls the machine. I had hoped to design - check things out on one and have a computer dedicated to the machine. Its 64 bit so can't run Mach3. Maybe I wasted my time adding a parallel port? I'll be running the g540, 4 nema23 hd motors at I believe 3a max each, 48v 10a psu +/-, so I believe most of the other options I've read about won't work? I kind of expect to be wrong. Any ideas or help would be great. I don't want to spend $200 and end up going in a different - better way.

regards,
    Rod

2. Giarc

Giarc OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder Resident Builder

If you want to learn Fusion 360 quickly, start with these seven short videos and work along with them.
    Also, this is a great video on making complex shapes in Fusion for 3D printing. I like these Instructable classes. They are a great way to learn. 3D Printing Class There is a CNC class as well (I have not taken it). CNC Class