Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

Fusion users what controller are you using?

Discussion in 'CAD' started by lemonyx, Aug 22, 2017.

1. lemonyx

lemonyx New
    Builder

Newbie here,

I understand Fusion 360 can be a stand alone CAD/CAM package. Draw your part and use it to make it. So what controller are you (Fusion users) using to take advantage of this to drive your steppers? I have browsed the net trying to learn and from what I see is that most controllers use " a software" that comes with the controller be it Grbl, Mach 3/4 or.... Currently I'm working on a variation of KYO's sphinx and would like to use Fusion 360 to run it ,build the plates and other items ,so I don't have to learn another program, then upgrade to the bigger one for cutting acrylic to build fish tanks (side business). I'm using KYO's as a building/learning experience before the bigger step to my version of CNC Router Parts pro 60 x 108.

tia

2. Kyo

Kyo Veteran
    Staff Member Builder Resident Builder

Almost any controller will work with Fusion 360. Heck even a Uno ! I use my own grbl controller running GRBL 1.1f and Bcnc as my GUI.

The work flow chain is like so.
    CAD
    CAM
    Control GUI

In the case of Fusion 360, CAD and CAM are built into one package.

Electronics and software go hand in hand while Fusion 360 can be used as cad/cam for any of them; a grbl controller will not work with Mach3/4 nor will a B.O.B (break out board ) work directly with grbl. Once you decide on Software your hardware / Controller choices get narrowed down. To give you some ideas here are a few of the more common software options and controllers they work with. Keep in mind Fusion will work with all of them.

Control GUI : Controller
    ---------------------------------------------------
    Mach3/4 : cm126ESS
    Linuxcnc : 7I76E
    UCCNC : UC400ETH
    Bcnc (+Others) : X-pro V3 (grbl controller)