Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

Choosing End Mills

Discussion in 'General Talk' started by kbcustoms, Jul 4, 2017.

1. kbcustoms

kbcustoms New
    Builder

Hi all,

Im very new to the Openbuilds arena and have just ordered my first CNC machine via Ooznest.

I will mainly be cutting MDF, potentially up to 18mm and acrylic to 5mm. Now the kit I purchased included the Dewalt 26200 and I have been looking for good end mill sources in the UK if possible. I understand that with the router being 1/4 collet that 6mm mills wont fit, I need 6.35. I have also ordered the 1/8 collet but again due to using imperial measurements 3mm mills wont fit, 3.175 is what I need.

So if anyone would be good enough to point me in the right direction, I would like to make some quite detailed profile toolpaths where I would need down to 2mm cutting end. I have looked on Amazon, Ebay etc but if you know of anywhere that would be better please let me know.

My main requirements are 2mm, 3mm and v carve 60 degree

So far I found these:

Konmison 10pcs Router Bit 3.175x17mm 2 Flutes Spiral Bit Milling Tools Carbide End Mill for CNC Router Engraving Machine: Amazon.co.uk: DIY & Tools

Thanks in advance, look forward to hearing from you all.

Kris

2. Rob Taylor

Rob Taylor Master
    Builder

Collets shrink as you tighten them, that's what they're for. I'd try the 6mm in the 6.35 and the 3mm in the 3.2, just in case. If the relief slots in the collet bind up before it puts pressure on the tool shank, then yeah, it's too big. "Real" collets (ER32, 5C, R8, etc) have ~1mm or so of actual capacity for using undersize or out-of-system sizes. Obviously the smaller the collet the less room it has to shrink, but you might get lucky.

As for sources, I no longer live there, so I can't help you with that one. Axminster was usually a good bet for quality (at a price) but Amazon/eBay will probably be fine for getting started in soft materials.